Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Spanish  Tags: spanish iberian_studies latin_american borges cervantes  

Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/spanish  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 

Best Database Choices for Spanish

 

Spanish Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences  
      
    This page is maintained by University Library staff to help you find book reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • Dissertations & Theses: Full Text 1861-present  
      
    Full text (PDF) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities.
  • JSTOR Journal Storage Project  
      
    Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    Includes the full text of articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with journal articles and book chapters about literary works and topics. Also includes the MLA Bibliography.
  • MLA International Bibliography 1926-present  
      
    Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable through Literature Resource Center.
  • Periodicals Archive Online: PAO  
      
    Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
  • Periodicals Index Online: PIO 1665-present  
      
    Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.
  • WorldCat: OCLC  
      
    Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

Dictionaries

  • Internet Dictionary Project  
      
    Includes a Spanish-to-English dictionary as well as an English-to-Spanish dictionary. These are very small dictionaries, with a very simple interface. These dictionaries contains approximately 1300 terms. Searches are case-insensitive.

Other Resources for Spanish

 

My Profile

Profile ImageC.Jared Loewenstein, Ph.D. Librarian for Spanish, Italian & Portuguese
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
434-924-4983
434-924-1431 fax
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait