ARH 102: Renaissance to ModernARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH 800ARH/ARAH 912ISHU 355SARC 600
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Architectural History and Preservation  Tags: architecture preservation history resources  

Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/architecturepreservation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARH 800             Print Page
  
 

ARH 800


ARH 800 - Methods

 

Find Books

VIRGO

 

OCLC WorldCat
Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version has all WorldCat holdings and provides the full bibliographic citation for each item.

 

Find Articles in Databases

Search BHA and Avery (below) together by selecting
them from the "specific databases" option

BHA
Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Avery Index
Indexes over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741) to the present.

 

More Databases for Articles and Book Reviews

EBSCOhost
Over 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time

JSTOR
Full-text backfiles of many scholarly journals, usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online which add 400 similar journals.

Art Index
Choose both Art Index and Art Index Retro for complete coverage. Art Index covers periodical literature from throughout the world. This database will have some full text.

PIO (Periodicals Index Online)
Indexes thousands of humanities and social science journals back to their date of inception, as far back as the late 18th c. in some cases. Provides links to full text via JSTOR and Project Muse where available, as well as page images for some journals.

MLA Bibliography
Best online index to scholarly articles in the literature of modern languages. Journal articles and multi-author works are listed. Coverage from 1920 to the present.

 

Find Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses
Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.  Hint:  Records for early dissertations and theses in this database do not have any abstract, so remember that you'll only find items that have your search term in the title!

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait