ARH 102: Renaissance to ModernARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH 800ARH/ARAH 912ISHU 355SARC 600
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Architectural History and Preservation  Tags: architecture preservation history resources  

Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/architecturepreservation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARH 491 - Medieval Mediterranean             Print Page
  

Tips

 

ARTstor Downloading

This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file.  For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

ARH 491 - Medieval Mediterranean

 

Search strategies: textiles, trade routes,ivor*, metalwork, nave, dome, imperial
fortress, palace, garden, church, mosque, monastery
crusade*, byzantine, Venice, Seville, gothic, islam*, Constantinople


Databases

 

Avery Index - Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

 

Basic Search KEYWORD fortress crusade*
venice byzantine

 

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, and more; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world.

 

Basic Search KEYWORD pilgrimage church
palace byzantine

 

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

 

Keywords: gardens and islamic

 

(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

 

Enter Databases IMB-English
All Index Terms church
Place constantinople
Century 13

Index Islamicus

Lists books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

 

Keyword: seville

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

 

Advanced Search: Keyword outremer
Century 12

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.


Images

 

ARTstor

Grove Art Online

 

Article Search: Constantinople



Web Sites

 

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/islam/islamsbook.html)

Images of Medieval Art and Architecture (http://vrcoll.fa.pitt.edu/medart/index.html)

Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/byzantium/)

Venetian Fortresses in Greece (http://members.tripod.com/romeartlover/Venezia.html)

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org)


Print Resources


Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary
(FA-REF N7850 .R67 1996)
Encyclopedia of Medieval Church Art (FA-REF N6763 .T37 1993)
Historical Dictionary of the Ottoman Empire.
(FA-REF DR436 .S66 2003)
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture. (FA-REF NA380 .P46 1996)
Islamic Art Collections. (FA-REF N6260 .I85 2000)
Historical Dictionary of the Crusades. (FA-REF D155 . S53 2003)
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. (FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991)
The Conway Library
(FA-MICFORM MICFICHE 2575 Guide)

.

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait