Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Astronomy  Tags: astronomy astrophysics databases  

Last update: Jun 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/astronomy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find articles             Print Page
  
 

Organize what you find!

 

RefWorks logo

RefWorks - gather, manage, store, and share your citations to books, articles, images...and more! Create citations, bibliographies, and format papers.

 

Best Databases for Astronomy

All Astronomy Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • Aerospace & High Technology Database  
      
    1962-present
    Journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Both basic and applied research are covered along with technological developments in supporting research fields.
  • Astrophysics Data System  
      
    1975-present
    The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 4.8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints.
  • Digital Dissertations  
      
    1861-present
    Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
  • INSPEC  
      
    1969-present
    Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
  • SIMBAD  
      
    The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications and bibliography for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates, other criteria (filters), and lists of objects.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBeth Blanton-Kent
/mm.swf?vxwBbwQCpE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="190" height="275">


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait