BIOL 309: Infectious Diseases 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Biology 

Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

All Biology Databases

  • AGRICOLA  
      
    1970-present
    AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, and more--pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
  • Biological Abstracts  
      
    1985-present
    Provides international coverage in areas such as genetics, botany, ecology, biomedicine, zoology, microbiology, and biochemistry.
    Citations to articles, books, software, etc. in the primary areas of agriculture and the life sciences.
  • BioOne  
      
    1985-present
    Provides full-text access to over 70 journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
  • BioscienceNetBase  
      
    Searchable full-text of over 180 reference handbooks in the biosciences.
  • CAB Direct  
      
    1973-present
    Searches peer-reviewed journals, academic books, technical reports, bulletins, and conference proceedings in the life sciences: agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the conservation of natural resources.
  • CSA Illumina  
      
    1973-present
    Over 40 science and technology databases in all subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time (e.g. Natural Sciences).
  • CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature  
    1982-present
    Lists articles from English-language journals plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, professional standards, software and audiovisual materials.
  • Digital Dissertations  
      
    1861-present
    Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
  • Entrez  
      
    The Life Sciences Search Engine: Searches across databases provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including GenBank, PubMed, OMIM, and many others.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
  • MEDLINE (Ovid)  
      
    All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus biological and physical sciences and humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Same content as EBSCO version.
  • MEDLINE (EBSCO)  
      
    All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus biological and physical sciences and humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Same content as Ovid version.
  • PubMed (National Library of Medicine)  
      
    Citations from Medline and for biomedical articles from other journals form the 1950s on.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
  • Zoological Record  
      
    2006-present
    Find citations to articles, conference proceedings, books, etc. on all aspects of zoology including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, taxonomy, and more.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Pappert, Librarian for Life Sciences



Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Science & Engineering Library: room I044
434-924-3845
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Psychology, Environmental Sciences

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait