UN Official records and other texts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Model United Nations  Tags: united_nations  

Last update: Aug 22nd, 2008 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/content.php?pid=16287  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Home

An excellent guide to Model UN Research may be found on the Stanford University website.

AccessUN - Index to United Nations Official Records and mimeographed reports and documents.
World News Connection - Indexes and provides full text translations to news accounts from around the world. Covers 1996 to the present, with some coverage for 1995.
FBIS Index - Library Cd-ROM Network - Indexes older translations on world news accounts. Covers from 1980 to 1996. Alderman owns microfiche of full texts.
United Nations Home Page - The UN Home Page is divided into 17 sections. The most useful are:
UN Official records and other texts
UN Official Records - General Assembly & Security Council - 3rd floor, Old Stacks
UN microfiche - Maps/Microforms Room - 3East
FBIS Daily Reports - Maps/Microforms Room - 3East - PREX 7.10:FBIS-[region]-[date]
UN Yearbook - 3rd floor, Old Stacks - UNOPI 1/YE 3/year.
World Factbook - 3rd floor, Ready ref. (behind 3rd floor desk)
Overview of Sources
AccessUN
Indexes speeches in the General Assembly & Security Council, reports, letters from governments to the UN, committee meetings & reports, and the UN Chronicle.
Coverage - 1945 - present
* When searching for speeches change the FIELD for the first search line to AUTHOR and leave the second line as ALL FIELDS. This will allow you to search for your country as the author of a speech or letter.
Example:
AUTHOR: iraq
ALL FIELDS: human rights

RESULTS:
Document NumberTitle
A/C.4/49/SR.28Summary of the 28th meeting 49th
A/48/PV.8585th Plenary Meeting
S/PV.23452345th meeting.

(SR and PV in a Document number indicate speeches)
UN Official Records
3rd floor, old Stacks
Paper texts of speeches (SRs & PVs), resolutions, letters to the UN, reports, etc.
UN BodyUN Document NumberLocation
A/ = General AssemblyA/sess./PV = full text of a speech - Aisle 7
S/ = Security CouncilS/PV = full text of a speech - Aisle 9
UN Microfiche
Maps/Microforms Room, 3East
Texts of pretty much everthing the UN has ever issued from 1946 to the present. Includes documents indexed on the UN Documents Index. Filed by document number.
UN Yearbook
3rd floor, Old Stacks
Year by year account of what goes on the the UN. Good references to other UN materials like speeches, letters, and reports.
3rd floor, Ready Ref (behind the 3rd floor desk)
Gives short sketches of the world's countried - gov't, land, people, history, economics, etc.
Indexes and provides full text translations to news accounts from around the world.
Coverage - 1996 to present, with some 1995.
CD-ROMs
Indexes, by region of the world, media accounts of events - newspapers, TV, radio.
Coverage 1977 - 1996
Example of results list:
DateRegionPageTitle
Jul 25 96EEU018Croatia:Fairness in Bosnia
Jul 22 96EEU021B-H:Ganic: No Health Peace
Jul 9 96EEU041Croatia: Opposition questions
* You need the date, region, and page in order to locate a FBIS report.
* Locate FBIS reports as follows:
1947-1973 - Microfilm - Case near window
1974-1996 - Microfiche - PREX 7.10:[FBIS-region-year-number]
1996-
World News Connection
 
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageGovernment Information
Contact Info:
Alderman Library, 3rd Floor
University of Virginia
434 924-3516
Send Email

Tips

More Information

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait