ARTstor Downloading
This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file. For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.

Loading Video Clip...
Targeted Web Search
This "swicki" allows you to search the best architecture sites on the web, instead of wading through thousands of Google results to find what you need! Just enter your search terms below!
House Garden Precedents
First Things First: Selecting your search terms
- Think about synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the ways to describe your topic?
VIRGO - The library catalog
Search the Subject field, and join your words using "AND"
Example: Gardens AND Design
Example: "swimming pools" AND California
Example: Gardens AND water
Search the Keyword field, and look for particular concepts or places. Connect your words using "AND"
Example: "villa lante"
Example: Gardens AND Victorian
Finding Articles
- Avery Index - Indexes over 2,000 periodicals relevent to all aspects of architecture; includes publication
dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage earlier than 1741) to the present.
Search for: Garden name, house name, designer's name, architect's name, home owner's name, in addition to concepts/themes
Hint: Check the detailed record of any result and look under "physical description" to see if an article includes photos, plans, etc. REMEMBER, even if the article isn't in English, the illustrations can be very helpful! You can also limit your search by elements in the physical description.
- EBSCOhost
Indexes over 100 journals related to architecture, planning, landscape and sustainability - many of which are NOT indexed by Avery. Some articles provided in full-text. Select any databases that might be related to your topic (General, Business, Green, etc.) to get the most results from your search.
- Art Index - Indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929.
- Bibliography
of the History of Art: BHA
Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, etc.; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world. Includes book reviews.
-
Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens + Landscapes
A searchable collection of historic and contemporary images that include plans, engravings, paintings, and photographs for teaching landscape studies.
- Find Images
Use this guide to find images of architecture in ARTstor and other image collections!
LAR 601: Landforms Assignment
This assignment asks that you carry out broad-based research about landform archetypes. The resources below will help you to explore the meaning and use of your landform through interdisciplinary resources.
First Things First: Selecting your search terms
- Think about synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the ways to describe your topic?
Defining the Landform, historically and culturally:
Oxford English Dictionary Online:
Use this to find word definitions, etymological meanings, and usage
One search, many dictionaries! Includes older dictionaries.
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology
The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Earth & Environmental Sciences section
Search for terms in various versions of the Bible.
LION includes the full text of many works of American and British literature.
Visualizing the Landform: Finding Images:
- ARTstor (You will need to set up an account for ArtStor. See the ARTstor Help for more information)
NOTE: Please see the video on the left for a tutorial on downloading images from ARTstor for use in Powerpoint or other formats.
- Bridgeman Art Library
- Maps
The Scholars' Lab offers numerous resources for finding maps and topographic information
Finding Other Studies of landscape & landform as symbol
- VIRGO - The library catalog
Words that appear in "Subject" field (i.e. Library of Congress Subject Heading terms):- Mythology, "religious aspects", customs, symbolism, "psychological aspects"
- Mythology, "religious aspects", customs, symbolism, "psychological aspects"
Search the Subject field, and join your words using "AND"
Example: Mountains AND "religious aspects"
Example: Sky AND mythology
Example: Landscape AND "psychological aspects"
Search the Title field, and look for reference sources. Connect your words using "AND"
Example: Landscape AND dictionary
Example: Architecture AND encyclopedia
- Avery Index - Indexes over 2,000 periodicals relevent to all aspects of architecture; includes publication
dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage earlier than 1741) to the present.
Basic search as Subject Word: topography
topography symbol?topograph? and symbol? - Art Index - Indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929.
Formal Analysis of an image:
Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing about Art. New York: Harper Collins College, 1993. (Available in the Fine Arts Library in the Reference section. Your assignment doesn’t require writing about your formal analysis, but this book will give you an idea of how to look at an image with an eye to form instead of content.)
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait