ARCH 5300 (Fall 2009)ARCH 7210 (Fall 2009)ARH 102: Renaissance to ModernLAR 601 (Fall 2008)LAR 6010 - Foundation Studio I (Fall 2009)PLAN 567
Web Resources for ArchitectureWeb Resources for Landscape
Architecture RSS and PodcastsLandscape RSS Feeds and Podcasts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Architecture and Landscape  Tags: architecture landscape rss resources databases  

Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/architecture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

LAR 6010 - Foundation Studio I (Fall 2009)             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 

ARTstor Downloading

This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file.  For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

LAR 6010: Landforms Assignment


This assignment asks that you carry out broad-based research about landform archetypes. The resources below will help you to explore the meaning and use of your landform through interdisciplinary resources.


First Things First: Selecting your search terms

  • Think about synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the ways to describe your topic?


Defining the Landform, historically and culturally:

Oxford English Dictionary Online:

                   Use this to find word definitions, etymological meanings, and usage

The OneLook Dictionary Search

    One search, many dictionaries! Includes older dictionaries.

Oxford Reference Online

The Oxford Companion to World Mythology

The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy

Earth & Environmental Sciences section

The Unbound Bible

    Search for terms in various versions of the Bible.

Literature Online (LiOn)

    LION includes the full text of many works of American and British literature.

 

Visualizing the Landform: Finding Images:

  • ARTstor (You will need to set up an account for ArtStor. See the ARTstor Help for more information)
    NOTE: Please see the video on the left for a tutorial on downloading images from ARTstor for use in Powerpoint or other formats.
  • Bridgeman Art Library
  • Maps
    The Scholars' Lab
    offers numerous resources for finding maps and topographic information

     



Finding Other Studies of landscape & landform as symbol

  • VIRGO - The library catalog
    Words that appear in "Subject" field (i.e. Library of Congress Subject Heading terms):
    • Mythology, "religious aspects", customs, symbolism, "psychological aspects"

Search the Subject field, and join your words using "AND"
    Example: Mountains AND "religious aspects"
    Example: Sky AND mythology
    Example: Landscape AND "psychological aspects"

Search the Title field, and look for reference sources. Connect your words using "AND"
    Example: Landscape AND dictionary
    Example: Architecture AND encyclopedia


  • Avery Index - Indexes over 2,000 periodicals relevent to all aspects of architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage earlier than 1741) to the present.
    Basic search as Subject Word: topography
    topography symbol?

    topograph? and symbol?
  • Art Index - Indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929.

 

Formal Analysis of an image:

Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing about Art. New York: Harper Collins College, 1993. (Available in the Fine Arts Library in the Reference section. Your assignment doesn’t require writing about your formal analysis, but this book will give you an idea of how to look at an image with an eye to form instead of content.)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait