Organize what you find!
RefWorks - gather, manage, store, and share your citations to books, articles, images...and more! Create citations, bibliographies, and format papers and articles.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder is a research discovery tool for locating chemical information in journals and patents published around the world. It provides access to organic and inorganic substance, structure, and reaction information. SciFinder is client-based software and only available to students and researchers at the University of Virginia. For information on how to download the software, click on the link. For assistance in searching SF more effectively, please contact Beth Blanton-Kent.
All Chemistry Databases
- ACS Publications1962-present
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- Ei Compendex*Plus This link opens in a new window1964-present
Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
- Digital Dissertations1861-present
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
- SciFinderProvides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database. Click on the above link for more information and instructions on downloading.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window1970-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.