Infrared SpectraNuclear Magnetic Resonance
General Sources
CHEM 3910-1
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Chemistry 

Last update: Sep 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

CHEM 3910-1             Print Page
  
 

Office Hours

EVERY MONDAY: 11am-1pm

  • Chemistry Library

By Appointment or Drop-In (call or email first to make sure I'm in the office)

  • Beth's Office: Room I-042 in BSEL (near QC 851 in journal stacks)
 

ACS STyle Guide

The Chemistry Librarian at Penn State has created an easy-to-use reference for citing items following the ACS Style guide. The ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors is available in the reference sections of the Chemistry Library and Brown SEL, call number QD 8.5 .A25. 

 

Resources to Make you a Happy Chemistry Student

  • Interlibrary Loan  
    This service allows you to get books and articles we either don't own or subscribe to at UVa. Articles will be sent in 3-5 days. Books usually arrive in 1-2 weeks. This service is FREE! SIGN UP NOW!
  • RefWorks  
    RefWorks is like a 'virtual file cabinet.' You can save/download information about articles, books etc. directly from article databases. You can attach PDFs to each record, if available. RefWorks will also help you create your BIBLIOGRAPHY.
 

Useful Resources

ACS Publications - journals published by the American Chemical Society

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics - well-known source of chemical property data

ChemSpider - online collection of open access chemistry information

Knovel Library - collection of handbooks; great resource for property data!

Royal Society of Chemistry - journals published by the Royal Society in Great Britain

ScienceDirect - full-text articles from journals published by Elsevier

Web of Science - follow an idea, concept or author through their publication history

 

Searching Tips!

 

Things to Consider:

  1. Chemical name searches can often retrieve confusing or spurious results. Consider structure searching in structure and reaction databases such as Reaxys and SciFinder.
  2. Think of a search as the intersection of discrete concepts. e.g fluorescence AND embedded probes
  3. Create a list of synonyms to take into account variations in word spelling, usage, etc. e.g. aluminum or aluminium
  4. Be general when starting to search and then become more focused
  5. Learn to use truncation symbols effectively. Truncation symbols may vary by database.  e.g. spectroscop* to retrieve both spectroscopy & spectroscopic
  6. Mine "good" results for further search terms and strategies.
  7. There isn't really a one-stop, get-all-the-good-stuff database. Be brave! Search multiple databases.
  8. Don't hesitate to contact a librarian for suggestions on databases, search strategies, retrieving information. etc.

 

 

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBeth Blanton-Kent
/mm.swf?vxwBbwQCpE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="190" height="275">


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait