Subject Guide
Using Electronic Resources
Through the Library you have access to a wealth of electronic resources, only a fraction of which are findable through Virgo. You can search any of the many databases available. But this guide will also introduce you to ways that you can search the external web, using Google Scholar or simply searching a publisher's journal website for a particular article to get instant access to the article if UVA subscribes, or to submit a pre-populated ILL request form if we don't.
Accessing electronic resources
Quickest path to full-text articles
- Libkey Nomad Browser Extension - Locates subscribed or open access full-text articles when you view an article webpage. Prepares an ILL request for your submission if we don't have access to the article. This is usually the quickest tool to use for finding an article.
Best Databases for Mathematics
- arXiv This link opens in a new windowOpen access to over 1,500,000 e-prints in Physics (including Astronomy), Mathematics, Computer Science, Statistics, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Electrical Engineering & Systems Science, and Economics
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window1887-present
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. - MathSciNet This link opens in a new window1940-present
From the American Mathematical Society, this database is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics.
- SpringerLink Mathematics eBook CollectionProvides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window1970-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
More Databases
To see a complete list of available Mathematics databases, click on the Find Articles tab above.
To search for books about Mathematics, click on the Find Books tab above.
You can access additional kinds of information relating to Mathematics using the other tabs above.
Tools for Writing, Citing, Publishing
Overleaf & 
Everyone with a virginia.edu email address is entitled to a free Pro account on the Overleaf platform, which is designed for collaborative editing of LaTeX documents. You no longer need to keep an installation of LaTeX up-to-date locally, just use Overleaf.
- Sign up for your free Overleaf account
- Browse the Overleaf Learn Wiki
- Overleaf for LaTeX Theses & Dissertations
- Overleaf/LaTeX for Scholarly Writing & Publication
- LaTeX references available online through UVA Library
- LaTeX Wikibooks resource
ORCID iD
Every researcher should have an ORCID iD. These are free, portable, unique identifiers which allow you to unambiguously associate all of your research products with each other. Most publishers and funding agencies require the use of an ORCID, but most researchers don't take full advantage of their ORCID, which can serve as a self-updating CV, if properly set up. As one example of the possibilities, you can view Ricky's ORCID profile.
More Information
- Place Items on ReserveFor Instructors wishing to place items on reserve for a course.
- Purchase RequestsUse this link to submit a request to ask the Library to purchase a book for the UVA Library.
- Interlibrary LoanOrder books and articles not found at UVa through this free service.
- Dept. of StatisticsLink to the Department of Statistics web pages.