Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Civil & Environmental Engineering  Tags: civil environmental transportation engineering patents standards technical_reports dissertations government military writing  

Civil and Environmental Engineering Subject Guide
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/civileng  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Find@UVa Button

Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online.  The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!

 

Newspapers

The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources.  For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.

Newspaper Guide

 

 

Database Spotlight

CSA Illumina

Illumina is a suite of over 40 databases in the sciences, engineering, humanities and social sciences.  These databases may be searched individually, in clusters of related subjects, or in user-customized groups.  Illumina is particularly useful for aerospace, mechanical and civil engineering topics, environmental sciences, and biomedical and social sciences.

 
 

OneSearch for Civil & Environmental Engineering

Search for books and articles in this box

This OneSearch will find articles from a variety of civil and environmental engineering databases, as well as from Google Scholar and VIRGO: UVa Libraries Catalog. Note that this search does NOT search ALL the databases listed below!

All Civil & Environmental Engineering Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • ASCE Civil Engineering Database  
      
    1970-present
    Bibliographic access to all ASCE publications.
  • Civil Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1966-present
    Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Compendex  
      
    1964-Present

    Large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews, standards, patents, handbooks and other materials.
  • Earthquake Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1971-present
    Search for articles and research reports relating to earthquake engineering and hazard mitigation. Most citations include abstracts. .
  • Energy Citations Database  
      
    Provides free access to over 2.3 million science research citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
  • EngNetBase  
      
    Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
  • Environment Complete  
      
    Journal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management  
      
    1967-present
    Multidisciplinary database of environmental sciences information from over 4000 journals as well as conference proceedings and books.
  • GeoRef  
      
    1693-present
    Search for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process.
  • Lalisio Literature  
      
    "Lalisio Literature" is a search engine designed to help you find the right literature for your research, studies, and teaching.
  • Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts  
      
    Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • National Transportation Library  
      
  • TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Services)  
      
    1960-present
    Contains records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.
  • Water Resources Abstracts (CSA)  
      
    1967-present
    Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
  • Web of Knowledege / Web of Science  
      
    1981-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageFred O'Bryant
Contact Info:
Brown Science and Engineering Library
Office: I-045 Clark Hall
Telephone: 434-924-6836
Send Email

Subjects:
Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Systems Engineering

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait