Librarian Info
Erich Purpur
Contact:
Clark Hall
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
434 924 1557
CEE Specific Tools
- ASCE Research Library (1995-present) This link opens in a new windowDatabase and index to ASCE publications. Check with a librarian for online access to full text.
In addition to the reference items listed to the right, here are others specific to Civil and Environmental Engineering.
- Building Green This link opens in a new windowInformation on environmentally sensitive design and construction. Includes Environmental Building News, Case Studies, and Greenspec.
- CivilENGINEERINGnetBASEOnline searchable CRC handbooks dealing with all areas of civil engineering. (U.Va. only)
- EERE High Performance Buildings DatabaseThe High Performance Buildings Database is research sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy that seeks to improve building performance measuring methods by collecting data on various factors that affect a building's performance, such as energy, materials, and land use.
- Structural Engineering CalculatorsSeveral online calculators for various uses from BuildingsGuide.com
Fast Facts
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThe online version of the classic handbook containing a wealth of tables, data and information on chemical and physical subjects, chemical property data, and supplemental mathematical tables and formulae. (U.Va. only)
Here are some links to authoritative online resources that provide quick access to facts, figures and information in many areas of science and engineering. Be aware, also, that the U.Va. libraries also have excellent collections of reference materials in print format. If you cannot find the information you need online, be sure to consult a librarian for assistance in locating the facts and data you want!
- CRC Handbook of Engineering TablesThe most important tables from every engineering discipline collected from the best, most authoritative references. (U.Va. only)
- CRCnetBase This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment. (U.Va. only)
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics This link opens in a new windowThe articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
- Encyclopedia Subject GuideLinks to many general and subject-specific resources of an encyclopedic nature.
- Engineering HandbookThe definitive handbook to all engineering specialties, providing basic information and overviews, key concepts, models and equations. (U.Va. only)
- EngNetBase This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. (U.Va. only)
- Industrial Quick SearchA collection of online catalogs from vendors and suppliers of engineering and scientific products and services.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Many tables and data sets allow real-time manipulation. (U.Va. only)
- Knovel Unit ConverterKnovel Unit Converter is a free tool which enables conversion among more than 1000 built-in units of measurements.
- Merriam-Webster Online DictionaryAn online dictionary of the English language.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Computer Desktop Encyclopedia (formerly TechWeb Encyclopedia)The site offers a handy encyclopedia of technology terms where visitors can search a database of over 25,000 IT terms. Results are given as short definitions with links to related terms.
- ThomasNet Need-to-Know GuidesAre you looking for some ground-level information? These primers, briefs, articles and guides can serve as your gateway to learning more. Each resource category offers a wealth of information aimed at providing you with the background and facts you need.
- WolframAlpha - Computational Knowledge EngineWolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine: it generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links.