Economic InfoEthical InfoGeneral DatabasesHistorical InformationLegal InformationTechnical Databases
General Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Chemical Engineering 

Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/chemeng  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Find@UVa Button

Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online.  The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!

 

Scholarly or Popular?

Is the journal or magazine you're looking at scholarly or popular?  Or a trade journal?  How can you tell the difference?  Take a look at the guide page below for more help and information!

How to Determine Whether a Periodical is Popular or Scholarly

 
 

Using Databases to Find Journal and Magazine Articles

A large amount of the information you will need for papers and assignments is found in magazine and journal articles.  There are literally hundreds of specialized databases available for finding this kind of information.  Note that VIRGO does not index magazines and journals at the article level -- you must use an article database to research the contents of journals!

 

See the lists of databases under the Economic, Ethical, Legal and Technical Info drop-down sub-tabs of this Find Articles tab for suggestions, but if you need more help, ask a librarian for assistance in finding and using the best databases for the kind of information you need!

 

Most of these databases are available from off-Grounds, too – and many contain links to the articles themselves.  Click for details on off-Grounds access.

 

Questions???  Just ask at the Library!

All Chemical Engineering Databases

  • ACS Publications  
      
    1962-present
    Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
  • Compendex  
      
    1964-present
    Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
  • Corrosion Abstracts  
      
    1985-present
    Corrosion Abstracts provides the world's most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering.
  • Digital Dissertations  
      
    1861-present
    Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
  • EngNetBase  
      
    Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
  • Knovel Library  
      
    Large collection of handbooks on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.
  • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)  
      
    1983-present
    Access provided through Engineering Village. NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Journals  
      
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
  • SciFinder Scholar  
      
    Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database. Click on the above link for more information and instructions on downloading.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBeth Blanton-Kent
/mm.swf?vxwBbwQCpE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="190" height="275">


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait