Economic InfoEthical InfoGeneral DatabasesHistorical InformationLegal InformationTechnical Databases
General Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Chemical Engineering 

Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/chemeng  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Databases             Print Page
  
 

Find@UVa Button

Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online.  The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!

 

Newspapers

The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources.  For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.

Newspaper Guide

 

 

General Information Databases

Use one or more of these databases for general searching on a topic, when you want broad coverage at a (mostly) general level of detail, or when you are interested in multi-disciplinary aspects of your subject.  Ask a librarian for assistance, if you are not finding what you need in these or other databases.

See also the Library's Complete Database Listing for many additional resources.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • African Journals Online  
      
    Find articles from journals published in Africa on all subjects or browse lists of the journals by subject or by country of publication. Some articles are available in full-text.
  • Alternative Press Index  
      
    Indexes alternative, radical and left newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Most are from the US, but some other countries are covered.
  • Archives USA  
      
    Locate manuscripts and other unique primary material in archival repositories and other collections throughout the United States.
  • Article First  
      
    Find articles from over 16,000 journals on all subjects.
  • CLASS/PERIODICA  
      
    Find articles in journals from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. CLASE covers journals specializing in social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
  • Conference Papers Index  
      
    Search for papers and poster sessions presented at scientific meetings. Focus is on the life sciences (including clinical medicine) and on environmental and aquatic sciences.
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    In depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  
      
    Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
  • Factiva  
      
    Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.
  • GreenFILE  
      
    Find journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research on environmental issues and practical steps for individuals.
  • Lalisio Literature  
      
    "Lalisio Literature" is a search engine designed to help you find the right literature for your research, studies, and teaching.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic  
      
    News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
  • Military and Government Collection  
      
    Magazines and academic journals providing news about defense issues for all branches of the armed services, army, air forrce, navy, marines. Also includes counntry reports and relevant government and international documents.
  • National Academy Press  
      
    Reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, written by leading researchers, on science, health, and engineering.
  • Newspaper Source Plus  
      
    Full text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected atories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
  • PAIS International  
      
    International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations and abstracts from 1985.
  • PapersFirst  
      
    Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
  • World News Connection  
      
    Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All in English.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBeth Blanton-Kent
/mm.swf?vxwBbwQCpE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="190" height="275">


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait