Economic InformationEthical InformationGeneral DatabasesHistorical InformationLegal InformationTechnical Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Science, Technology, & Society 

Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/sts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Find@UVa Button

Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online.  The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!

 

Database Spotlight

CSA Illumina

Illumina is a suite of over 40 databases in the sciences, engineering, humanities and social sciences.  These databases may be searched individually, in clusters of related subjects, or in user-customized groups.  Illumina is particularly useful for aerospace, mechanical and civil engineering topics, environmental sciences, and biomedical and social sciences.

 

Science, Technology & Society Databases

  • 4th Year Theses (STS Online Thesis Database)  
      
    The Department of Science, Technology and Society makes available an online database of 4th year theses written since the 2000/2001 academic year. You will need to consult VIRGO to obtain call numbers for theses available in the Brown Sci & Eng Library.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • Aerospace & High Technology Database  
      
    1962-present
    Find journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Both basic and applied research are covered along with technological developments in supporting research fields.
  • Civil Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1966-present
    Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Compendex  
      
    1964-present

    Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
  • Computer and Information Systems Abstracts  
      
    1981-present
    Provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications in computer science from around the world. Includes both journal articles and conference proceedings.
  • Computer Database  
      
    1980-present
    Articles about computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews about hardware, software, electronics, engineering, and communications from 1994 on. Some full-text articles. Includes book reviews.
  • INSPEC  
      
    1969-present
    Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
  • INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts  
      
    1898-1968
    The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology,
  • Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1966-present
    Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Mechanical Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1981-2002
    Surveys and summarizes the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering, presenting theoretical perspectives as well as specific applications.
  • Medline (EBSCO)  
      
    1950-present
    World's premiere database for biomedical and health-related topics, including biomedical engineering.
  • METADEX  
      
    Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. To search METADEX with other, related indexes, use CSA Materials Research Database.
  • SciFinder Scholar  
      
    Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
  • TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Services)  
      
    1960-present
    Contains records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
 
 

Subject Librarian

Kathy Soule

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Office: I-052 Clark Hall
434-924-3591
Email: soule@virginia.edu
Email Me
View My Guides

My Subjects:
Science, Technology & Society 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait