Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Computer Science  Tags: computer computers computing databases dissertations engineering government military patents reports standards writing  

Computer Science Subject Guides
Last update: Oct 03rd, 2008 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/compsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Web Pages            Print Page
  

Search Google

The search box below will perform a simple search of the Google database.  For more complex searches we recommend Google's Advanced Search capability.

For search tips on how to use Google more effectively, try the Google Search Tips blog's brief video tutorials.

Search query:
 

Search Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar

Enter names of authors, titles of articles, key words, etc. in the search box and then check in the results for full text access using the button.

NOTE that not all online resources are indexed by Google Scholar!

Google Scholar video tutorial (3.5 minutes).

     

    Science and Engineering Web Search Engines

    While Google is a fine search engine, there are other web search tools that are optimized for science and technology searches.  Try one of these instead!

    • Athenus.com  
        
      A searchable directory of science and technology websites.
    • Intute - Science, Engineering and Technology  
        
      A UK-based science and engineering web directory featuring resources chosen by human selectors for their quality.
    • OSTI One Stop Search Service  
      Provides links to several types of web searching and federated searching of government-produced web resources.
    • Q-Sensei  
        
      An experimental web search engine that searches open-access material from ArXiv and PubMed Central and a few other related resources.
    • Science.gov  
        
      A searchable directory of U.S. government web resources considered most important and useful by the agencies that sponsor them.
    • ScienceResearch.com  
        
      A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
    • Scirus - for Scientific Information Only  
        
      Scirus searches for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
    • Scitation  
        
      Discover more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
    • TechXrtra  
        
      Find articles, books, websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more.
    • WorldWideScience.org  
        
      WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
     

    Librarian for Dig. Servs.

    Profile ImageAndrew Sallans
    Contact Info:
    Librarian for Digital Services
    Brown Sci. & Eng. Library
    Office: 143
    Phone: 434-243-2180
    Send Email

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait