SIE Specific Tools
In addition to the reference items listed to the right, here are others specific to Systems and Information Engineering.
Fast Facts
Here are some links to authoritative online resources that provide quick access to facts, figures and information in many areas of science and engineering. Be aware, also, that the U.Va. libraries also have excellent collections of reference materials in print format. If you cannot find the information you need online, be sure to consult a librarian for assistance in locating the facts and data you want!
- AccessScience: the Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
The online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. (U.Va. only) - Brown Library Online Reference Collection
This link will take you to the full listing of online reference resources maintained by the Brown Science and Engineering Library. It includes most of the resources listed below along with many others. - Constants, Equations, Conversions and Symbols
A collection of hundreds of scientific and technical constants, equations and related information. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The online version of the classic handbook containing a wealth of tables, data and information on chemical and physical subjects, chemical property data, and supplemental mathematical tables and formulae. (U.Va. only) - CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables
The most important tables from every engineering discipline collected from the best, most authoritative references. (U.Va. only) - CRCnetBASE
Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment. (U.Va. only) - Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
Information about over 101,000 representative organometallic, inorganic, and coordination compounds, including formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, synthesis, physical properties, and key literature citations. - Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Search the full text or browse topics, including cosmology, archeoastronomy, instrumentation, space missions, solar system, stars, and galaxies. (U.Va. only) - Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Lengthy overview articles on many aspects of life sciences. (U.Va. only) - Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS)
16 interlinked encyclopedias to show "transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society." Covers topics in social sciences and humanities as well the life, physical, and applied sciences. (U.Va. only) - Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics
The articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. - Engineering Handbook
The definitive handbook to all engineering specialties, providing basic information and overviews, key concepts, models and equations. (U.Va. only) - ENGnetBASE
Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. (U.Va. only) - Industrial Quick Search
A collection of online catalogs from vendors and suppliers of engineering and scientific products and services. - Knovel Library
Large collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Many tables and data sets allow real-time manipulation. (U.Va. only) - Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
An online dictionary of the English language. - Oxford Reference Online
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. - Referex
Large collection of e-books from Elsevier and some other publishers. Includes titles on materials, mechanical, electronic, electrical, chemical, petrochemical, and process engineering. (U.Va. only) - Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
For a wide variety of chemical substances provides relevant patent information and data on physical and chemical properties, production, applications, economic data, toxicology and occupational health.
Subject Librarian |
Fred O'BryantContact Info:
Brown Science and Engineering Library
Office: I-045 Clark Hall
Telephone: 434-924-6836
Send Email
Subjects:
Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Systems Engineering
Brown Science and Engineering Library
Office: I-045 Clark Hall
Telephone: 434-924-6836
Send Email
Subjects:
Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Systems Engineering
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait