- ACS Publications
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
- ProQuest Materials Research Database
Best databases for graduate research. Compilation of materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.
- Digital Dissertations
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
- Engineered Materials Abstracts - Ceramics
Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
- Knovel Library
Large collection of handbooks on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.
Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Access provided through Engineering Village. NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.
Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
(requires login id & password)
a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences
- Web of Science/Web of Knowledge
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.