Economic InfoEthical InfoGeneral DatabasesHistorical InformationLegal InformationTechnical Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Materials Science & Engineering 

Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/materialsscience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Historical Information             Print Page
  
 

Find@UVa Button

Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online.  The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!

 

Newspapers

The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources.  For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.

Newspaper Guide

 

 

Historical Information Databases

Use one or more of these databases to search for historical information on a topic or technology.  Keep in mind that more specialized and technical databases may also contain articles and other information about the history of a topic or invention.  Also keep in mind that for very new or recent technologies there may be relatively little "historical" information available.  Ask a librarian for assistance, if you are not finding what you need in these or other databases.

See also the Library's Complete Database Listing for many additional resources.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • Accessible Archives  
      
    Fully-searchable texts and page images from The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), seven African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860, and three newspapers of the Civil War period.
  • African American Newspapers 1827-1860  
      
    Searchable text and page images for 7 African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860. For more recent (1985-present) newspapers, see Ethnic NewsWatch.
  • America History and Life  
      
    Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide.
  • America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922  
      
    Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and Historical Newspapers.
  • American Memory Project (Library of Congress)  
      
    Primary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. Includes printed text, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts on many topics.
  • American Periodicals Project  
      
    Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  
      
    Locate articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history in journals from many countries.
  • British History Online  
      
    Digital versions of many core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
  • Dictionary of the History of Ideas  
      
    Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.
  • Factiva  
      
    Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
  • Historical Newspapers  
      
    Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1984) and the Washington Post (1877-19887).
  • International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  
      
    Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500).
  • Iter Bibliography  
      
    Look for books, journal articles, and essays in books on all topics for the Middle Ages and Renaissance (ca. 400-1700).
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic  
      
    News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers  
      
    Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. For additional titles see Historical Newspapers and America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
  • Wellesly Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900  
    The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBeth Blanton-Kent
/mm.swf?vxwBbwQCpE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="190" height="275">


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait