Economic InfoEthical InfoGeneral DatabasesHistorical InformationLegal InformationTechnical Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Materials Science & Engineering 

Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/materialsscience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Technical Databases             Print Page
  
 

Find@UVa Button

Use the Find@UVA button in your database search results to search for the full text of that journal article online.  The results may sometimes look a little confusing, so don't hesitate to ask for help!

 

Newspapers

The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources.  For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.

Newspaper Guide

 

 

Technical Information Databases

Use these databases to search for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other sorts of technical information at a (mostly) high level of scholarly and technical detail.  If you are not finding the information you need, please consult with a librarian.

See also the Library's Complete Database Listing and other Subject Guides for many additional resources.

  • 4th Year Theses (STS Online Thesis Database)  
      
    The Department of Science, Technology and Society makes available an online database of 4th year theses written since the 2000/2001 academic year. You will need to consult VIRGO to obtain call numbers for theses available in the Brown Sci & Eng Library.
  • Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (ANTE)  
      
    Covers U.S. and U.K. research in emerging technologies including computing, electronics, biotechnology, medicine, construction, electrical and chemical engineering. Covers articles, tech reports, proceedings, etc.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • ACM Digital Library  
      
    Citations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
  • Aerospace & High Technology Database  
      
    1962-present
    Find journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Both basic and applied research are covered along with technological developments in supporting research fields.
  • ASCE Digital Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)  
      
    Search journals and conference proceedings published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources.
  • Biological Abstracts  
      
    Find journal articles on biological and biomedical research and related areas such as environmental studies, agriculture, biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology and bioengineering.
  • Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts  
      
    Search a group of journal indexes covering research, regulatory developments and new patents in all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, environmental and marine biology.
  • Civil Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1966-present
    Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Compendex  
      
    1964-present

    Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
  • Computer and Information Systems Abstracts  
      
    1981-present
    Provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications in computer science from around the world. Includes both journal articles and conference proceedings.
  • Computers and Applied Sciences Complete  
      
    Indexes journals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.
  • Electronics and Communications Abstracts  
      
    Search for publications on such topics as circuits, components, photonics, telecommunications and telecommunications equipment.
  • Engineered Materials Abstracts  
      
    Lists articles, dissertations, technical reports, etc. on all aspects of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
  • Environment Complete  
      
    Journal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
  • IEEE Xplore  
      
    Find articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
  • INSPEC  
      
    1969-present
    Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
  • INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts  
      
    1898-1968
    The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology,
  • Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1966-present
    Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Mechanical Engineering Abstracts  
      
    1981-2002
    Surveys and summarizes the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering, presenting theoretical perspectives as well as specific applications.
  • Medline (EBSCO)  
      
    1950-present
    World's premiere database for biomedical and health-related topics, including biomedical engineering.
  • METADEX  
      
    Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. To search METADEX with other, related indexes, use CSA Materials Research Database.
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information  
      
    NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).
  • PubMed  
      
    Citations from MedLine and for biomedical articles from other journals form the 1950s on. UVa also provides access to the Medline database through other vendors. From these other vendors, you can access the full text of articles contracted by UVa.
  • SciFinder Scholar  
      
    Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
  • Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts  
      
    Search for publications of all kinds on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices along with high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
  • Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  
      
    1970-present
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBeth Blanton-Kent
/mm.swf?vxwBbwQCpE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="190" height="275">


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Brown Sci & Eng Library
Room: I042
434-924-6837
Email: bwb9f@virginia.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Astronomy, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Physics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait