More Information
Iconography
II. Iconography
1. Judeo-Christian Resources
The Index of Christian Art, http://ica.princeton.edu/
The Index (previously known as the Princeton Index) records works of
art in 17 different media types, without geographical limitations,
produced from "apostolic" times to 1400 A.D. The original archive is
organized into two tiles, one a collection of more than 200,000
photographs with textual data; the second, a subject file providing a
thematic index to the photographs. It indexes over 26,000 subjects in
Christian Art and includes bibliography for each work of art. "Among
the holdings is the largest reference collection of Crucifixion scenes,
saints, and personifications in existence." (ica.princeton.edu/~ica/range.html).
Some of the textual material has been put online, however, there are
few images available at present. The online version has 150 searchable
categories of information.
Format: print and online (web-based). There are four copies of
the monumental print and photographic archive: at Princeton; Dumbarton
Oaks; Utrecht; and the Vatican. The photographs will continue to be
added manually to the print version and online. The scholar must
request permission and travel to one of these locations to use the
print Index.
Holy Bible, Revised Standard, Jerusalem Bible, King James Version, Vulgate, New English Bible
FA REF BS191.A1 1953, FA REF BS192.A1 1970
James, M. R. The Apocryphal New Testament (1924)
FA REF BS2832.J3 1924
Charles, R. H. The Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament (1913-1971)
FA REF BS1692 1913
Reau. Louis. Iconographie de l'art chretien (1955), p.v I-III
FA REF N7830.R4 1955
Schiller, Gertrud. Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst (1981), bd. 1-7
FA-REF N7830.S35
Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie (1968), bd.1-8.
FA-REFN7825.L4
2. Resources for Post- Biblical Saints
Post biblical saints are very nationalistic, often the patron saint of a culture, group, or family. Thus, this list is very selective and predominantly Western.
De Voragine, Jacobus. The Golden Legend (1969)
FA REF BX4654.J334 1969
Berthod, Bernard et al. Dictionnaire iconographique des Saints (1999) FA REF N 8079.5 .B47 1999
Farmer, David. The Oxford Dictionary of Saints (1978)
FA REF BX 4659 .G7F23
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (1991)
FA REF DF521 .O97 1991
Kaftal, George. Saints in Italian Art (1952-), v. 1-4 by region
FA REF N8080 .K25
Rochelle, Mercedes. Post-Biblical Saints Art Index (1994)
FA REF N8079.5 .R63 1994
Wolf, Norbert. The World of the Saints (2005)
FA REF N8079.5 .W65513
3. Greco Roman Resources
LIMC Lexikon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (1981) v.1-8, pt. 2 and 2 vol. index FA REF N7760.L49 1981
THESCRA Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (1981) v.1-3
FA REF N7760.T44 2004
See the Perseus Digital Library, www.perseus.tufts.edu for these texts and translations:
Homer. Iliad.
Homer. Odyssey.
Virgil. Aeneid.
Ovid. Metamorphoses.
3. Non-Western Resources
Chandra, Lokesh. Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography (1999), v. 1-14
FA REF N8193.A4 L644 1999
4. Subject Resources
ICONCLASS (www.iconclass.nl/)
FAL homepage - Databases - Additional Databases
Laupichler, Fritz. ICONCLASS Indexes: Early German Prints (1995), v.1-4 FA REF NE90.I363
Strate, Roelof. ICONCLASS Indexes: Dutch Prints (1955), v.7-8
FA REF NE90 .I362
Strate, Roelof. ICONCLASS Indexes: Italian Prints (1995), v.1-4
FA REF NE90 .I365
Tervarent, Guy de. Attributs et symboles dans l'art profane, 1450-1600 (1958) FA REF N7740 .T4 1958
Van Marle, Raimond. Iconographie de l'art profane au Moyen Age et la Renaissance (1971), 2 vols. FA REF 7565 .M37 1971
Dictionnaire critique d'iconographie occidentale (2003)
FA REF N7565 .D53 2003
Pigler, A. Barockthemen (1974), v. 1-3
FA REF N7565 .P53 1974
Symbols and Allegories in Art (Getty Guide to Imagery, 2005)
FA REF N7740 .B2913
Nature and Its Symbols (Getty Guide to Imagery, 2004)
FA REF N7680 .I4713 2004
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography (1998), 2 vols.
FA-REF N7565 .E53 1998
Assignment III
Choose from this list of iconographical references and write a one-page synopsis of the story from which it comes. Cite your source using the resources given for Iconography.
Story of Deborah in Baroque art
Tobit and the fish
St. Joseph at the Marriage of the Virgin
Apotheosis
St. Catherine's Wheel
Amitabha (Amida) in Sukhavati
Esther's Feast
St. Euphemia
One of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse
Parrot in German prints
Christology: Annunciation
The Hunt
Okeanos and Tetys
Salome and the head of John the Baptist
Christology: Entry Into Jerusalem
Achilles and the Body of Hector
St. Hilda
Birth of Venus
Death of the Virgin
One Labour of Hercules
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait