ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Renaissance to Modern             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 
 

Renaissance to Modern

III. Renaissance(s) to Modern

Web Resources

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases

 

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art


Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. There is some Full-text coverage. Subjects indexed cover a wide range in the fine arts, architecture and the decorative arts.

Avery Index

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.

(PCI) Periodical Contents Index

PCI is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1770 to 1995. Every article is indexed. PCI currently indexes over twelve million journal articles in 3,665 journals. Every year, it adds records for more than one million new articles.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Worldcat

Includes over 30 million catalog records and holdings from over 12,000 libraries worldwide, including UVA. Materials in all formats.

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Print Resources

A selective sampling of important series for this period:

Prints

Le peintre-graveur and The Illustrated Bartsch (FA-OVERSIZE NE90 .B213)
Hollstein Dutch and Flemish Engravings (FA-OVERSIZE NE663 .H6/65)
Inventaire du fonds francais graveurs (FA-OVERSIZE NE647 .P35)

Reference  Corpori

Les primitifs flamands (FA-OVERSIZE ND665 .P66)
Dictionary of Sea Painters (FA-REF ND1374 .A72 1989
The Dictionary of British Art, 6 vols. (FA-REF N6796 .D53 1990)
A Corpus of Florentine Painting (FA-OVERSIZE ND621 .F7O37)

 

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait