ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

American             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 
 

American

V. American

Databases:

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases

ArtBibliographies Modern provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Smithsonian American Art Museum Research Databases provides access to the National Inventory of American Painting and Sculpture, the Photographic Archives Catalog, and the pre-1877 Art Exhibitions catalog.

America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present. Includes book reviews.

HarpWeek covers Harper’s Weekly and provides a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1877.

Historical Newspapers provides full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2004), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), the Washington Post (1877-1991), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986).

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 provides access to articles from 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing in America between 1740 and 1900.

Archives USA is a directory of over 5,000 repositories and more than 120,000 collections of unpublished primary source material (manuscripts, papers, diaries, photographs, etc.), with holdings and contact information. Includes the entire National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections from 1959 to the present.

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Art Index

Periodical Index Online

 

Museum and Web Sites:

Smithsonian American Art Museum
http://www.americanart.si.edu/index3.cfm

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
http://decorativearts.library.wisc.edu/

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
http://www.mfa.org/home.htm

Reynolda House Museum of American Art
http://www.reynoldahouse.org

National Gallery of Art
http://www.nga.gov/home.htm

Whitney Museum of American Art
http://www.whitney.org/

Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
http://www.thinker.org/index.asp

Library of Congress: American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/pp/pphome.html

Making of America
http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/

Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/

Print Resources:

A selective sampling of important series for this period:

Index to 19th Century Periodicals, 2 vols. (FA REF N6510.S35 1999)
Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975, 3 vols. (FA REF N6536.W56 1999)
The New York Historical Society's Dictionary of Artists in America, 1564-1860 (FA REF N6536.N4 1957)
Artists in Ohio, 1787-1900 (FA REF N6530. O3 H38 2000)
Artists in Virginia before 1900 (FA REF N6530. V8 W7 1983)
The Artists of Washington, D.C., 1796-1996 (FA REF N6535. W3 M3 1995)
Society of Architectural Historians. Buildings of the United States (FA REF NA 730.....)
Mills Lane. The Architecture of the Old South (FA REF NA 730....)
Burnham Index to Architectural Literature (IVYANNEX Z5944 .U5B87 1989)
The Boston Art Club Record 1873-1909 (FA REF N6510.C43 1991)
The Annual Exhibition Record of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, 3 vols. (FA REF N6505.A64 1988)
The National Museum of American Art's Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues: From the Beginning through the 1876, 6 vols. (FA OVERSZE N6507 .Y363 1986)
The Annual & Biennial Exhibition Record of the Whitney Museum of American Art 1918-1959 (FA REF N6512. A638 1991)
The Annual Exhibition Record of the National Academy of Design 1901-1950 (FA REF N6512. A64 1990)
American Engravers Upon Copper and Steel, 3 vols. (FA REF NE505. S8 1964)
Index of American Print Exhibitions, 1882-1940 (FA REF NE507. W55 1998)
American Printmakers 1880-1945 (FA REF NE507. W53 1993)
American Printmakers 1946-1996 (FA REF NE508. B76 1999)

Topics:

Choose one and search for citations on the subject in the indexes you deem appropriate. Note a few good articles or citations you found pertinent to the topic and where you found them.

Charles Willson Peale and the Philadelphia Academy

Photography and the American Indian image

Winslow Homer's Civil War paintings and verity

John Trumbull's portraits of American society

American Impressionist painters

Impact of the Armory Show on museum collecting

John Singer Sargent in Italy

American women artists who painted domestic scenes

American Landscape and scientific discovery

Work of Edmonia Lewis

WWI War memorials

Exhibition History of the Boston Athenaeum

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait