ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Contemporary             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 
 

Contemporary

VI. Contemporary

Databases:

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases

 

ArtBibliographies Modern

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

FAL Contemporary Art Resources

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Art Index

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)   and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

 

Web Resources:

Internet ArtResources

Up-to date information on contemporary artists, galleries, exhibitions, and future shows.

Artnet

Includes information on exhibitions from over 1,300 galleries, as well as artists biographies and news.

ArtFact

The Artfact Pro Internet is a professional research instrument with over 4 million unedited public auction sales results compiled from hundreds of participating auction houses worldwide.

ArtSource

"A Gathering place for resources in art and architecture." Includes links to e-exhibitions and artists' projects.

Rhizome.org

"...an online platform for the global new media art community."

 

Museum Web Sites:

Heard Museum

National Museum of Women in the Arts

Museum of Modern Art

MOCA

NY Public Library Picture Collection

MCA Chicago

 

Print Resources:

A selective sampling of important series for this period:

African American Architects (FA-REF NA736 .A47 2004)
Architecture theory since 1968
(FA-REF NA680 .A728 1998)
Contemporary Latin American Artists
(FA-REF E98.A7S8 1998)
Dictionnaire de L'Art Moderne Contemporain (FA-REF N6485.2 .D53 2002)
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture (FA-REF NA680 .E495 2004 v.1-3)
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century (FA-REF N6503 .N67 1995)

 

Topics:

Choose one and search for citations on the subject in the indexes you deem appropriate. Note a few good articles or citations you found pertinent to the topic and where you found them.

 

Environmental art

Contemporary American Indian women sculptors

Tate Modern Collection

Work of Sarah Moon

Recent books on Jacob Lawrence

Installations of Abramovic

Kitsch as an art form

Work of Louise Nevelson in Chicago

Recent show of Latino artists in New York

European exhibitions of Richard Long

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait