ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Non-Western and Multi-cultural             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 
 

Non-Western & Multi-cultural

VII. Non-Western and Multicultural

Databases:

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases

 

(BAS) Bibliography of Asian Studies

References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

 

Art Index

Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world.�

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans (VIRGO databases)

Contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present from the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) and the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Includes book reviews.

 

Index Islamicus

Lists books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

 

Web Resources:

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art

UVa East Asia Center

Includes links to sites on Asian studies throughout the world.

Himalayan Art

WWW Virtual Library: Guide to Tibetan Art, Theater, and Music

AfricArt

H-AfrArts

 

Museum Web Sites:

Discover Islamic Art

Heard Museum

Kluge Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection

Baltimore Museum of Art

National Museum of the American Indian

Musee Guimet

Musee du Quai Branly

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery of Art

National Museum of African Art II, Smithsonian Institute

 

Print Resources:

A selective sampling of important series for this period:

General Index, Heibonsha Survey of Japanese Art (FA-REF N7350 .B45 1980)
An index to the extensive Heibonsha volumes of photographs of Japanese monuments.
Encyclopedia of Asian Culture (FA-REF DS12 .E53 1999)
The Cambridge History of Japan, 5 vols. (FA-REF DS835 .C36 1988)
The Cambridge History of China, 2 vols. (FA-REF DS735 .C3145)
The Cambridge History of Ancient China (FA-REF DS741.5 .C35 1999)
A Dictionary of Japanese Art Terms (FA-REF34 .N52 1990)
Islamic Art Collections (FA-REF N6260 .I85 2000)

 

Topics:

Choose one and search for citations on the subject in the indexes you deem appropriate. Note a few good articles or citations you found pertinent to the topic and where you found them.

 

Portraits of Shah Jahan

Collections of Islamic art in France

Chinese paintings of the seasons

Nigerian royal sculpture

Madura sculpture

Frescoes from the Abbasid period

Flames of the Bodhisattva

Korean pottery

Temples at Nara

Tibetan medical scrolls

Southeast Asian architecture

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait