ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARH/ARTH 921             Print Page
  

Quick Search Links

 
 

ARH/ARTH 921


ARH/ARTH 921 From Roman to Romanesque: The Classical Past in Medieval Visual Culture

Fall 2008

FAL homepage (http://www.lib.virginia.edu/finearts)

Search Strategies

what: arch, church, tomb, facade, column, palace, nave, portal

why: spolia, dynastic, revival, renascence, iconography, ideology

where & when: Norman, romanesque, classical, byzantine, Sicily

General Resources

Oxford Reference Online

Grove Art Online

VIRGO

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

 

Research Databases

BHA

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Avery Index

Indexes over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741) to the present.

Art Index

Choose both Art Index and Art Index Retro for complete coverage. Art Index covers periodical literature from throughout the world and is a good place to search for articles on Asian architecture. This database will have some full text.

Index of Christian Art

Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

International Medieval Bibliography

Produced by the International Medieval Institute, this standard bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 450-1500) indexes over 4,000 journals in a variety of disciplines. It also indexes books that are collections of articles. Updated annually.

DYABOLA

Subject index for periodicals and books on classical and medieval art, archaeology, and humanities. Compiled at the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Coverage begins in 1956 with annual updates.

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

JStor

 

Web Resources

Perseus Digital Library

Contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Art and archaeology catalogs document a wide range of objects: over 1,500 vases, over 1,800 sculptures and sculptural groups, over 1,200 coins, hundreds of buildings from nearly 100 sites and over 100 gems.

 

Selected Print Resources

Lexicon Iconongraphicum Mythologiae Classicae (FA-REF N7760.L49 1981)
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991)
Travlos, Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens (FA-REF NA280 .T68 1971)
Nash, Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome (FA-REF NA310 .N28 1968)
Lexikon Topigraphicum Urbis Romae (FA-REF DG63 .L49 1993)

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageLucie Wall Stylianopoulos
Contact Info:
Head, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait