ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARTH 491 - Hogarth's London             Print Page
  

More Information

Quick Search Links

 

ARTstor Downloading

This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file.  For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

New!

Resources from the October 30th class:

**Remember - Place Inter-Library Loan requests early to be sure they arrive in time!**

 

ARTH 491 - Hogarth's London

Scholars Listening to a Lecture

Evaluate the Library Instruction Session

Hogarth's London:
Research Sources and Strategies

This page is intended to serve as a starting point for your research on William Hogarth, his associates, and the culture of London in the 18th Century.

 

First Things First:  Choosing a topic & Selecting your search terms

Choosing a topic is an iterative process.  Here are some considerations to keep in mind. Your topic will evolve as you research, so research must also be part of choosing your topic.

Think about synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the ways to describe your topic?  Create a list of topic words or that you will use in your searches.

 

Finding Books

  • VIRGO - The library catalog
    Words that appear in "Subject" field (i.e. Library of Congress Subject Heading terms):
    • London, Hogarth, prints, satire, criticism, influence, "political and social views", sources, "18th century"

Search the Subject field, and join your words using "AND"
    Example: Hogarth AND "political and social views"
    Example: prints AND "18th century"

Search using "Search All", and look for reference sources. Connect your words using "AND" to narrow down your results.  Careful!  "Search All" will include results in which your terms appear as part of an Author's name, publishing company, etc!
    Example: Hogarth AND Walpole
    Example: Hogarth AND Literature

 

 

Finding Articles:

 

Art Index  1929-present

indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929. The index is divided into two parts, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art Index Full Text (1984-present). Actual full text coverage begins in 1997.


Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA    1973-present

Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, etc.; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world. Includes book reviews.  You can also search Avery Index (the best architecture and architectural history database) if you select it from the "Specific Databases" link.

 

Historical Abstracts

Covers the history of all the world except North America back to 1450 CE. Covers material published since 1954. Indexes journal articles, books, and dissertations, but not book reviews or articles in books.

 

JSTOR

The full text of key journals in history and other disciplines, from the first volume up to the late 1980's or early 1990's. Includes the American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of Modern History, Renaissance Quarterly, Speculum, and William and Mary Quarterly.

 

Literature Online (LiOn)

The "Criticism and Reference" search includes ABELL citations and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LION also includes the full text of many works of American and British literature.


Reference Resources (for orienting you with people,concepts, and other general background info)

Grove Art Online  

Access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific as well as links to tens of thousands of images.

Oxford Reference Online

Of particular interest to this class are  the Art & Architecture  and History materials.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.

 

Primary Resources:

 

ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)

Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons.

 

Special Collections

Access to rare books and manuscripts housed in the Small Special Collections Library.  Take a look at the FAQ before you visit, so you know what to expect!

 

Finding Images:

  • ARTstor (You will need to set up an account for ArtStor. See the ARTstor Help for more information)
    • NOTE: Please see the video on the left for a tutorial on downloading images from ARTstor for use in Powerpoint or other formats.

  • Tate Collection Online 
    • NOTE:  According to the Tate website, "The contents of this website can be viewed for your enjoyment and so you may freely access and download the contents on a temporary basis for the sole purposes of viewing, interacting or listening to them."
    • Also check out the Tate's site about their past exhibition on Hogarth!
  • MAPCO
    • Just one source for 18th century maps of London - this one allows you to zoom in to see more detail.
  • The Lewis Walpole Library Digital Collection
    • Digitized images and manuscripts from the Lewis Walpole Library, a marvelous library for 18th century studies.  Also a source for primary sources.

 

Questions?  Need more help?  Contact Us!

Lucie Stylianopolous:  lucie@virginia.edu

Rebecca Cooper:  rcooper@virginia.edu

 

 

Image Credit:  William Hogarth. Scholars at a Lecture,or Der Vaccum. 1736-1737. Published by William Heath, 1822.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageLucie Wall Stylianopoulos
Contact Info:
Head, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait