ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese Art             Print Page
  

Quick Search Links

 

Featured Image

Spouted ritual wine vessel (guang), Shang dynasty, early Anyang period (ca. 1300–1050 B.C.), 13th century B.C.
Possibly Anyang, Henan Province, China
Bronze; W. 13 in. (33 cm)
Collection of the Metropolitain Museum of Art.

 
 

Ancient Chinese Art

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/finearts

Search strategies: sculpture, bronze*, ornament, Dunhang, tomb, jade
buddhist, imperial, religion, ritual, afterlife, miltary
China/Chinese, Shang, Han, Sichuan, Zhou

VIRGO - Keyword chinese and bronze*

 

Databases

(BAS) Bibliography of Asian Studies
References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Art Index
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world since 1929.

Avery Index
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s

EbscoHost
A very inter-disciplinary database, that includes historical, cultural, literary, artistic, and other journals, as well as news sources. 

JStor
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

Grove Art Online (Now Oxford Art!)
Access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific as well as links to tens of thousands of images.

Oxford Reference Online
A large collection of basic information on many subjects (including art, philosophy, and religion) drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

 

Web Resources

 

Museum Web Sites

Print Resources

Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography, v. 1-2 (FA-REF N8193.A4 L644 1999)
The Cambridge History of Ancient China (FA-STKS DS741.5 .C35 1999)

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageLucie Wall Stylianopoulos
Contact Info:
Head, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait