ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

2. Ancient and Medieval             Print Page
  

Quick Search links

More Information

 
 

Ancient and Medieval

Ancient and Medieval

 

Databases

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases

 

Perseus Digital Library

Contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Art and archaeology catalogs document a wide range of objects: over 1,500 vases, over 1,800 sculptures and sculptural groups, over 1,200 coins, hundreds of buildings from nearly 100 sites and over 100 gems.

DYABOLA

Subject index for periodicals and books on classical and medieval art, archaeology, and humanities. Compiled at the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Coverage begins in 1956 with annual updates.

Beazley Archive

Photographs, notes, drawings, books and impressions from engraved gems and photographs of Athenian vases; the largest archive of this class in the world and the basis of Beazley's life work. Today the database has nearly 70,000 records, 30,000 images and 3,500 registered users.
The Pottery Database of the Archive contains information on 67,659 Athenian figure-decorated vases of the 7th-4th centuries BC and includes 17,871 images as well as reproductions of Beazley's drawings.

(BCIN) Conservation Information Network

One of three conservation databases first released in 1987, BCIN's objective is to facilitate the retrieval and exchange of information concerning conservation and restoration of cultural property. BCIN's contributing partners have brought together over 190,000 bibliographic records on conservation. A great deal of conservation literature is referenced, including the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials. The database also includes previously unavailable material from private sources, as well as new information gathered by a worldwide network of contributors.

International Medieval Bibliography

Produced by the International Medieval Institute, this standard bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 450-1500) indexes over 4,000 journals in a variety of disciplines. It also indexes books that are collections of articles. Updated annually.

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

Art Index
Index of Christian Art
Avery Index

 

Web Resources

TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)

Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca. 160 journals, and over 23,000 articles in a database at Toronto. Look here for current bibliography.

Diotima (Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World)

An interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean. Diotima includes course materials, a nascent searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line articles, book reviews, databases, and images.

L'Annee Philologique

The online database of L'Annee philologique which is updated with each new volume. Volumes 45-60 (1974-1989) are covered in the DCB.

Classics Resource Page, UVA

 

Print Resources

A selective sampling of important series for this period:

Lexicon Iconongraphicum Mythologiae Classicae [LIMC] (FA-REF N7760.L49 1981)
Summary Guide to Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (FA-REF NK4640 .C6Z9 2000)
Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum [CVA] (FA-OVERSIZE NK4640.C6) series
Pompei : pitture e mosaici, 10 vols.(FA-OVERSIZE ND2575 .P75 1990)
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, 3 vols. (FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991)
Travlos, Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens (FA-REF NA280 .T68 1971)
Nash, Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome (FA-REF NA310 .N28 1968 )
Lexikon Topigraphicum Urbis Romae, 5 vols. (FA-REF DG63 .L49 1993)

 

Topics:

Choose one and search for citations on the subject in the indexes you deem appropriate. Note a few good articles or citations you found pertinent to the topic and where you found them.

  • What type of vase does Exekias paint most often?

  • Did Ernst Kitzinger work on any of the Byzantine Churches in Sicily?

  • Where can I find out what type of crops were raised on a Roman villa like Boscoreale?

  • What are the most recent works by John Oakley?

  • What is the akathistos hymn?

  • What type of gardens were excavated at Pompeii and where can I get details on the plants found?

  • Please give some citations on the monastery church of Daphne.

  • Give a list of a few of the publications of Andrew Stewart.

  • What articles have been written in the last 5 years on women and dance in ancient Greece?

  • Has there been any work done on the Empress Galla Placidia (5th c. A. D.)?

  • Where is Amphipolis and which ancient author wrote about it?

  • List a few citations having to do with the monastery of Cluny.

  • Are there Byzantine excavations in Macedonia (Greece)? Name two.

  • Who has written an article on the House of Augustus?

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageLucie Wall Stylianopoulos
Contact Info:
Head, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait