Iconography
Iconography
1. Judeo-Christian
The Index of Christian Art, http://ica.princeton.edu/ (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University, 1991-)
The Index (often known as the Princeton Index) records works of art in
17 different media types, without geographical limitations, produced
from "apostolic" times to 1400 A.D. The original archive is organized
into two tiles, one a collection of more than 200,000 photographs with
textual data; the second, a subject file providing a thematic index to
the photographs. It indexes over 26,000 subjects in Christian Art and
includes bibliography for each work of art. "Among the holdings is the
largest reference collection of Crucifixion scenes, saints, and
personifications in existence." (www.princeton.edu/~ica/range.shtml).
Some of the textual material has been put online, however, there are
few images available at present. The online version has 150 searchable
categories of information.
Format: print and online (web-based). There are four copies of
the monumental print and photographic archive: at Princeton; Dumbarton
Oaks; Utrecht; and the Vatican. The cost is entirely prohibitive and
now the print texts, once kept on little cards, are no longer being
updated except online. The photographs will continue to be added
manually to the print version and online. The scholar must request
permission and travel to one of these locations to use the print Index.
This information comes from the Index to Christian Art home page, Range and Scope of the Archive.
Holy Bible, Revised Standard, Jerusalem Bible, King James Version, Vulgate, New English Bible
FA-REF BS191.A1 1953, FA-REF BS192.A1 1970
James, M. R. The Apocryphal New Testament (Oxford: At the Clarendon Press, 1924)
FA-REF BS2832.J3 1924
Charles, R. H. The Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament (Oxford: At the Clarendon Press, 1913-1971).
FA-REF BS1692 1913
De Voragine, Jacobus. The Golden Legend (New York: Arno Press, 1969).
FA-REF BX4654.J334 1969
Reau. Louis. Iconographie de l'art chretien (Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 1955), p.v I-III.
FA-REF N7830.R4 1955
Schiller, Gertrud. Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst (Gerd Mohn: Gutersloher Verlagshaus, 1981), bd. 1-7
FA-REF N7830.S35
2. Greek Mythology
Lexikon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (Zurich: Artemis Verlag, 1981) v.1-8, pt. 2 and 2 vol. index.
FA-REF N7760.L49 1981
See the Perseus Digital Library, www.perseus.tufts.edu for these texts and translations:
Homer. Iliad.
Homer. Odyssey.
Virgil. Aeneid.
Ovid. Metamorphoses.
3. Subjects
Chandra, Lokesh. Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography (New Delhi: International Academy of Indian Culture, 1999), v. 1-2.
FA-REF N8193.A4 L644 1999
ICONCLASS (www.iconclass.nl/)
Laupichler, Fritz. ICONCLASS Indexes: Early German Prints (Leiden: Foleor Publishers, 1995), v.1-4
FA-REF NE90.I363
Strate, Roelof. ICONCLASS Indexes: Dutch Prints (Leiden: Foleor Publishers, 1995), v.7-8.
FA-REF NE90 .I362
Strate, Roelof. ICONCLASS Indexes: Italian Prints (Leiden: Foleor Publishers, 1995), v.1-4.
FA-REF NE90 .I365
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography (Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn publishers, 1998), 2 vols.
FA-REF N7565 .E53 1998
Assignment II
Choose from this list of iconographical references and write a one-page synopsis of the story from which it comes. Cite your source using the resources given for Iconography.
-
St. Thecla
-
Marriage of the Virgin
-
Eros and Psyche
-
Amitabha (Amida) in Sukhavati
-
Esther's Feast
-
One of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse
-
Parrot in German prints
-
Annunciation
-
Triumph of Bacchus
-
Judith and Holofernes
-
Semele
-
St. Lawrence
-
One Labor of Hercules
Your Librarian |
Lucie Wall StylianopoulosHead, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait