Renaissance(s) to Modern
Renaissance(s) to Modern
Web Resources
FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases
(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art
Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD)
to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and
abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations,
exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500
periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated
quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000
periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior
design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is
from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to
the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated
daily.
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts
articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical
coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum
bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German,
Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art
Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed
periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that
cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index
published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins
1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. There is some
Full-text coverage. Subjects indexed cover a wide range in the fine
arts, architecture and the decorative arts.
Provides full abstracts of journal
articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and
exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and
contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries
date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging
and includes performance art and installation works, video art,
computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books,
theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts,
graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as
traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking,
sculpture, and drawing.
PIO is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of
periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1770 to 1995.
Every article is indexed. PIO currently indexes over twelve million
journal articles in 3,665 journals. Every year, it adds records for
more than one million new articles.
Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to
the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO
database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles
published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.
Includes book reviews.
Includes over 30 million catalog records and holdings from over
12,000 libraries worldwide, including UVA. Materials in all formats.
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Your Librarian |
Lucie Wall StylianopoulosHead, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait