ARH 491 - Medieval MediterraneanARH/ARTH 921ARTH 291 - Masterpieces of Western ArtARTH 4591 - Alexander CalderARTH 4591 - Ancient Chinese ArtARTH 4591-3 RomanticismARTH 491 - Hogarth's LondonARTH 491 - IngresARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman ArtARTH 491 - Shadows and Renaissance Art
AmericanAncient & MedievalBiography & ImageContemporaryIconographyNon-Western and Multi-culturalRenaissance to Modern
1. VIRGO2. Ancient and Medieval3. Biographies and Dictionaries4. Iconography5. Images6. Renaissance(s) to Modern7. American and Contemporary
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Art & Art History 

Resources for art and art history subjects
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/artandarthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

7. American and Contemporary             Print Page
  

Quick Search links

More Information

 
 

American and Contemporary

American and Contemporary

Databases

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html - Databases

ArtBibliographies Modern

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Archives of American Art / Smithsonian Inventories

The Smithsonian American Art Museum has established a comprehensive listing: the Inventory of American Paintings and Sculpture. Together, the Art Inventories provide information on over 335,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Information is compiled from a variety of sources, including published catalogues, collection checklists, reports from collectors, journals and magazines, and preservation inventories. In-depth information on outdoor sculptures from a nationwide survey known as Save Outdoor Sculpture! (SOS!) is a key component of the database.

America History and Life

This ABC-CLIO database covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Art Index

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)   and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

 

Web Resources

 

Print Resources

A selective sampling of important series for this period:

Mayer International Auction Records (cd-rom)
Gaze. Dictionary of Women Artists, 2 vols. (FA-REF N8354 .D53 1997)
Native North American Artists (FA-REF E98 .A7S8 1998)
The National Museum of American Art's Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues: From the Beginning through the 1876, 6 vols. (FA-REF N6507 .Y363 1986)

 

Topics:

Choose one and search for citations on the subject in the indexes you deem appropriate. Note a few good articles or citations you found pertinent to the topic and where you found them.

  • Environmental art

  • Charles Willson Peale and the American Museum

  • Contemporary American women painters

  • Winslow Homer's Civil War paintings

  • Work of Sarah Moon

  • Recent books on Jacob Lawrence

  • Installations of Abramovic

  • Work of Louise Nevelson in Chicago

  • Owners of paintings by Thomas Cole

  • Recent show of American Indian artists

  • European exhibitions of Richard Long

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageLucie Wall Stylianopoulos
Contact Info:
Head, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait