ARTstor Downloading
This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file. For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.

Loading Video Clip...
Shadows & Renaissance Art
**Please Evaluate the Library Instruction Session - Click here!**

First Things First: Choosing a topic & Selecting your search terms
Choosing a topic is an iterative process. Here are some considerations to keep in mind. Your topic will evolve as you research, so research must also be part of choosing your topic.
Think about synonyms,
broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the
ways to describe your topic? Create a list of topic words or that you
will use in your searches.
Finding Books
- VIRGO - The library catalog
Words that appear in "Subject" field (i.e. Library of Congress Subject Heading terms):- "Light in art", Painting, Italian, Renaissance, Gothic, shadow, medieval, color
- "Light in art", Painting, Italian, Renaissance, Gothic, shadow, medieval, color
Search the Subject field, and join your words using "AND"
Example: "light in art" AND Renaissance
Example: Alberti AND painting
Search
using "Search All", and look for keywords. Connect your words using
"AND" to narrow down your results. Careful! "Search All" will include
results in which your terms appear as part of an Author's name,
publishing company, etc!
Example: Chiaroscuro
Remember, in a library catalog, only a few words are chosen to describe the ENTIRE CONTENTS of a book... so choose search terms that are broad! A book on Renaissance Painting might have a great chapter on light and shadow, but those words might not appear in the library catalog!
WorldCat
Includes over 30 million catalog records and holdings from over
12,000 libraries worldwide, including UVA. Materials in all formats.
WorldCat will help you find out what is out there that UVA might not
have. Most materials in WorldCat are available through Interlibrary
Loan.
Finding Articles and News in Databases
(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art
Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.)
to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and
abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations,
exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500
periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated
quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.
Art Index
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts
articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical
coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum
bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German,
Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art
Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed
periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that
cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index
published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins
1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. There is some
Full-text coverage. Subjects indexed cover a wide range in the fine
arts, architecture and the decorative arts.
Avery Index
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000
periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior
design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
JStor
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas
such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education,
history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and
statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years
before the present.
EbscoHost
Indexes over 100 journals related to architecture, planning, landscape
and sustainability - many of which are NOT indexed by other databases. Some
articles provided in full-text. Also great for current events, news items, and reviews. Remember to "Select all" at the beginning. You're searching a very broad range of materials here, so adding words like art, painting, etc. to your search will help you to find articles that are more relevant.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
PIO is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of
periodicals in the humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the 1990s.
Every article is indexed. Includes over twelve million
journal articles in 3,665 journals. Every year, it adds records for
more than one million new articles.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to
the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO
database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles
published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.
Includes book reviews.
Dissertations & Theses Full-Text
Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works
and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from
1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after
July, 1980.
Images
ARTstor contains thousands and thousands of high-quality images of art and architecture. Need help getting started? Click the ARTstor Help tab at the top of this page!
Print Resources
There are a number of print resources that can help you with your research as well, including books that explain the iconography of saints, symbols of the renaissance era, etc. Many of these are available in the Reference Section of the library. Just ask at the desk!
Your Librarian |
Lucie Wall StylianopoulosHead, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait