ARTH 491 - Masterpieces of Roman Art
**Evaluate the Library Instruction Session**
Masterpieces of Roman Art:
Research Sources and Strategies
First Things First: Choosing a topic & Selecting your search terms
Choosing a topic is an iterative process. Here are some considerations to keep in mind. Your topic will evolve as you research, so research must also be part of choosing your topic.
Think about synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the ways to describe your topic? Create a list of topic words or that you will use in your searches.
Finding Books
- VIRGO - The library catalog
Note: Searching the "Subject" field uses only the Library of Congress Subject Heading terms:
Search using "Search All", and look for keywords. Connect your words using "AND" to narrow down your results. Careful! "Search All" will include results in which your terms appear as part of an Author's name, publishing company, etc!
Example: Dionysos and mosaic? (Or, a broader search for Dionysos and art)
Example: Rome and bronze?
Finding Articles:
DYABOLA
The combined catalogue of all the German Archaeological Schools in Rome, Athens, Istanbul, Madrid, Damascus, Cairo, etc. Citations to articles on classical, near eastern, and Egyptian archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, and numismatics. NOTE: Dyabola has a free version called Zenon, in which you may find slightly different results. If you're not finding what you need, try Zenon too.
DYABOLA search help from Berkeley library
TOCS-IN
"Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists." Covers ca.
185 journals, whose tables on contents can be browsed or searched. Some
recent Festschriften are also included.
Art Index Indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from
selected art periodicals published since 1929. The index is divided
into two parts, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art Index Full
Text (1984-present). Actual full text coverage begins in 1997.
Avery Index
Indexes and abstracts
periodicals, catalogs, essays, etc.; subjects include all aspects of architecture, and design. Includes book
reviews. You can also search Bibliography of the History of Art (a great resource for art information, but not strong in classical art) if you select it from the "Specific Databases" link.
JSTOR
The full text of key journals in history and other disciplines, from
the first volume up to the late 1980's or early 1990's. Includes the
American Historical Review, College Art Journal, Burlington, Archives of American Art Journal, and more. NOTE: JSTOR does NOT include recent issues of these journals.
EbscoHost
Indexes over 100 journals related to art and architecture, and many other fields. Contains both academic and popular publications on interdisciplinary topics. Some
articles provided in full-text. Also great for current events, news items, and reviews.
Perseus Digital Library
Access to selected Greek and Latin texts as well as related criticism and reference works and a collection of images.
Reference Resources (for orienting you with people,concepts, and other general background info)
Grove Art Online
Access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia,
Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific as well as links to tens
of thousands of images.
Oxford Reference Online
Of particular interest to this class are the Art & Architecture, Mythology and Folklore, Classics, and History materials.
Finding Images:
- ARTstor (You will need to set up an account for ArtStor from on-Grounds. See the ARTstor Help for more information)
- NOTE: Please see the video on the left for a tutorial on downloading images from ARTstor for use in Powerpoint or other formats.
- Flickr
- Flickr is filled with amazing images of public art and architecture. PLEASE NOTE, however, that copyright restrictions still apply with Flickr. You are welcome to use images in a scholarly context, but don't publish or post to the web without permission of the photographer!
- Flickr is filled with amazing images of public art and architecture. PLEASE NOTE, however, that copyright restrictions still apply with Flickr. You are welcome to use images in a scholarly context, but don't publish or post to the web without permission of the photographer!
Related Subjects
Find databases about English/Literature, Religion, History, Sociology, etc.
Click here for a list of databases by topic.
Questions? Need more help? Contact Us!
Lucie Stylianopolous: lucie@virginia.edu
Rebecca Cooper: rcooper@virginia.edu
Your Librarian |
Lucie Wall StylianopoulosHead, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait