ARTstor Downloading
This video will guide you through the process of downloading an ARTstor video as a .jpg file. For more information, see the ARTstor Help pages.

Loading Video Clip...
ARTH 4591 - Romanticism

Evaluate the Library Instruction Session
Romanticism:
Research Sources and Strategies
First Things First: Choosing a topic & Selecting your search terms
Choosing a topic is an iterative process. Here are some considerations to keep in mind. Your topic will evolve as you research, so research must also be part of choosing your topic.
Think about synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, plural/singular terms... what are the ways to describe your topic? Create a list of topic words or that you will use in your searches.
Finding Books
- VIRGO - The library catalog -- Also try VIRGObeta!
Words that appear in "Subject" field (i.e. Library of Congress Subject Heading terms):- Romanticism, painting, illustration, literature, criticism, influence, "political and social views", sources, "18th century"
- Romanticism, painting, illustration, literature, criticism, influence, "political and social views", sources, "18th century"
Search the Subject field, and join your words using "AND"
Example: Blake AND "political and social views"
Example: Friedrich AND Caspar AND influence
Search using "Search All", and look for reference sources. Connect your words using "AND" to narrow down your results. Careful! "Search All" will include results in which your terms appear as part of an Author's name, publishing company, etc!
Example: landscape AND romanticism
Example: Romanticism AND theater
Finding Articles:
Art Index 1929-present
indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929. The index is divided into two parts, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art Index Full Text (1984-present). Actual full text coverage begins in 1997.
Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA 1973-present
Indexes and abstracts
periodicals, catalogs, essays, etc.; subjects include all aspects of the visual
arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world. Includes book
reviews. You can also search Avery Index (the best architecture and architectural history database) if you select it from the "Specific Databases" link.
Covers the history of all the world except North America back to 1450 CE. Covers material published since 1954. Indexes journal articles, books, and dissertations, but not book reviews or articles in books.
The full text of key journals in history and other disciplines, from
the first volume up to the late 1980's or early 1990's. Includes the
American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of
Modern History, Renaissance Quarterly, Speculum, and William and Mary
Quarterly. NOTE: JSTOR typically doesn't look at the past 5 years of journal content! Don't use this for the most up-to-date scholarly information!
Reference Resources (for orienting you with people,concepts, and other general background info)
Grove Art Online
Access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific as well as links to tens of thousands of images.
Of particular interest to this class are the Art & Architecture and History materials.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.
Primary Resources:
ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)
Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons.
Access to rare books and manuscripts housed in the Small Special Collections Library. Take a look at the FAQ before you visit, so you know what to expect!
Finding Images:
- ARTstor (You will need to set up an account for ArtStor. See the ARTstor Help for more information)
- NOTE: Please see the video on the left for a tutorial on downloading images from ARTstor for use in Powerpoint or other formats.
- The Lewis Walpole Library Digital Collection
- Digitized images and manuscripts from the Lewis Walpole Library, a marvelous library for 18th century studies. Also a source for primary sources.
Other helpful Resources
-
WorldCat: FirstSearch (Find books all over the country that you can get from Interlibrary Loan!)
-
BOOKMARK THIS: The login page for making ILL requests... https://uva.hosts.atlas-sys.com/illiad/logon.html
**Remember - Place Inter-Library Loan requests early to be sure they arrive in time!**
Questions? Need more help? Contact Us!
Rebecca Cooper: rcooper@virginia.edu
Lucie Stylianopolous: lucie@virginia.edu
Your Librarian |
Lucie Wall StylianopoulosHead, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-924-6604
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Archaeology, Architectural History
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait