- Avery Index
indexes over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741) to the present.
Indexes over 100 journals related to architecture, planning, landscape and sustainability - many of which are NOT indexed by Avery. Some articles provided in full-text.
- Building Green Suite, Inc.
A subscription-based online resource for environmentally sensitive design and construction.
- Engineering Village
Combines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
- ULI Development Case Studies
Hundreds of Case Studies from the Urban Land Institute. UVa provides access to the complete case study with photos, site plans, project data, and a report on the development process. Note: access is limited to two simultaneous users.
- Google Scholar
Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Note that Google Scholar does not search all of the journals to which UVa has access.
- Oxford Reference Online
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Homes and Communities
Online library of publications from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as well as other resources.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) 1972-Present
Public Affairs Information Service indexes a wealth of print and online resources relating to the environment, health, social issues, and government in more than 120 countries. Does not index newspapers. Coverage from 1972 and older through the archive.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
Lists articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, 1,700 social sciences journals, and 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Frequent updates make it a good source for very recent information.
- Scholars' Lab Resources
Geospatial and Statistical Resources indexed by the Scholars' Lab. Includes resources for the study of select cities.
- American Factfinder
U.S. Census Bureau site and resource for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Finding aid for statistics produced by the U.S. Government. Search by topic, agency, or geographic region.
- Social Explorer
Interactive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1940 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980.