Web Resources for Planning
PLAC 569 - Food SystemsPLAN 303PLAN 567
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Urban & Environmental Planning 

Last update: Feb 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/planning  Print Guide  RSS Updates

PLAN 567             Print Page
  
 

Targeted Web Search

This "swicki" allows you to search the best architecture sites on the web, instead of wading through thousands of Google results to find what you need! Just enter your search terms below!

Grab this swicki from eurekster.com

 
 

Finding Housing Information

Before you start:

(1) Craft your research strategy. Make a list of search words.

(2) Organize your research materials

  • Use Refworks to organize your research and simplify your bibliography! View the UVa Refworks page here, complete with tutorials. HINT: When setting up an account, use your UVa email address, so your account will be Free!

 

VIRGO - The Library Catalog

Tip: The "subject" search on VIRGO refers to the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a select list of terms used to identify the topic of a resource. Here are some of the Library of Congress Subject Headings used for housing/planning:

"real estate development"
"urban renewal" "urban beautification"
"housing development"
"community development" "regional planning"
"city planning"
"environmental aspects"

"planned communities"

 

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Avery) 19th century-present.
Over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741) to the present.

PIO: Periodicals Index Online - 1665-present
Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1984), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). and the Washington Post (1877-1987). For more recent issues, use Factiva.

Factiva
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.

HABS (Historic American Buildings Survey)
Digital collections from the Library of Congress illustrating achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies.

Homes and Communities
Online library of publications from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as well as other resources.

UN Habitat
The United Nations agency for human settlements. It is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

HousingPrototypes
Contains examples of housing designed by different architects in different historic periods, countries, and cities.

ULI Case Studies
Hundreds of case studies from the Urban Land Institute. Requires a login and Password, available from the Fine Arts Library.

Building Green, Inc.
Information on environmentally sensitive design and construction. Includes Environmental Building News, Case Studies (select "Projects"), and Greenspec.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait