Web Resources for Planning
PLAC 569 - Food SystemsPLAN 303PLAN 567
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Urban & Environmental Planning 

Last update: Feb 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/planning  Print Guide  RSS Updates

PLAC 569 - Food Systems             Print Page
  

Tips

Off-Grounds Help

Need help downloading and installing UVA Anywhere VPN to get to the databases from off-grounds?
Contact ITC at: (434) 924-3731
weekdays from 8 AM–5 PM

Or, click the link below to visit their help page.

 

Targeted Web Search

This "swicki" allows you to search the best architecture sites on the web, instead of wading through thousands of Google results to find what you need! Just enter your search terms below!

Grab this swicki from eurekster.com

 
 

Healthy Communities, Healthy Food Systems

Before you start:

Craft your research strategy.  Make a list of search words.
Think about synonyms, jargon, plurals, etc.

 

VIRGO - The Library Catalog

Tip:  The "subject" search on VIRGO refers to the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a select list of terms used to identify the topic of a resource.  Here are some of the Library of Congress Subject Headings used for planning:

"food supply"
"sustainable agriculture" "urban health"
"nutrition policy"
"food law and legislation"
"regional planning"

 

Databases

EBSCOhost
Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.

 

Agricola
Contains citations for journal articles, monographs, and more--pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.

 

PAIS
International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations and abstracts from 1985. Newer book entries include tables of contents.

 

Sociological Abstracts
Sociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly.

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Avery) 19th century-present.
Over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741) to the present.


Factiva
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.

 

GOOGLE
Tips & Tricks

  • Put quotation marks around words that you want to stick together as a phrase
  • Add "site:.gov" to the end of your search to ONLY search websites on government domains
  • Add "filetype: .pdf" to ONLY search for information you think is likely to be in PDF format (reports, documents, etc.)
  • Use the minus sign or dash to eliminate results that are off target (Example:  food system -digestive)
  • Remember that Google is only a computer, and doesn't understand the concepts in your search.  So, try your search using different keywords and phrases that mean the same thing. 

 

Other Resources:


Please take this survey to help us improve library instruction!

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait