Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

History 

Library resources for history research
Last update: Jul 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

America, Canada Britain, Australasia            Print Page
  

Find Scholarly Articles

  • America: History & Life  
    Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the U.S. or Canada. For these see "America: History & Life."
  • JSTOR Journal Storage Project  
    Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

Historical Collections: Books, Journals and Magazines, Newspapers

  • Accessible Archives  
    Texts and page images from the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), 7 African-American newspapers from 1827-1860, and 3 Civil War newspapers: New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, and Charleston Mercury.
  • America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922  
    Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers. For additional titles see "Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers" and "ProQuest Historical Newspapers."
  • American Periodicals Series  
    Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  
    Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Covers Virginia, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, and Utah.
  • Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective  
    Searchable text and images from the New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, and Charleston Mercury between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865, including battlefield maps and other illustrations.
  • Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans 1639-1800  
    Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th and 18th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, etc. Based on Charles Evans' "American Bibliography."
  • Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819  
    Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, etc.
  • Early English Books Online: EEBO 1475-1700  
    Searchable collection of every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other primary sources in all subjects.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online: ECCO 1701-1800  
    Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world.
  • HarpWeek Full-Text Database, 1857-1912  
    Searchable online text and images of Harper's Weekly. Searches may be limited to editorials, cartoons, illustrations, etc.
  • Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers  
    Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library. For "The Times" see "The Times: Digital Archive."
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers  
    Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. For additional titles see "America's Historical Newspapers" and "ProQuest Historical Newspapers."
  • Periodicals Archive Online  
    Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990's.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
    Search and see full text articles from the New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), Chicago Tribune (1890-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), and the Washington Post (1877-1991). For more recent issues use "Factiva".
  • The Times: Digital Archive 1785-1985  
    Search the full text of The Times (London), including articles, advertisements, and picture captions.

Other Historical Databases

  • ACLS Humanities E-Book  
    Large collection of e-books compiled by the American Council of Learned Societies. Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studie
  • African American Studies  
    A guide to UVA Library databases, newspapers, microforms, reference sources, and statistics valuable for African American Studies.
  • American Civil War: Letters & Diaries  
    Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War, many still in manuscript form. Also includes selected biographies, a bibliography and a chronology of the War.
  • American Memory Project: Library of Congress  
    Primary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. Includes printed text, collections of photographs, moving images, scanned manuscripts, etc.
  • British History Online  
    Digital versions of many core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, including parliamentary journals, tax records, church documents, many calendars and indexes, directories, Ordnance Survey maps, a
  • British Parliamentary Papers  
    This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Alderman Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers, Journals, and Debates.
  • Cabinet Papers, 1915-1977 - British National Archives  
    Access to British Cabinet papers from 1915-1977: CAB 23-24, 65-68, 128-129, 195. Search the collection or browse by themes, such as "Diplomacy and Foreign Relations", "Finance and the Economy", "Total War", etc.
  • Congressional Record  
    Searchable full text access to the Congressional Record and its predecessors (1789-present). Also includes American State Papers (1789-1838) and Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789).
  • Diary Research: A Guide to Selected Library and Web Resources  
    A guide to numerous print and online sources for finding diary materials held by the University of Virginia libraries.
  • Documenting the American South  
    Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  
    Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
  • History E-Book Project  
    Now called ACLS Humanities E-Book.
  • History Resource Center  
    Integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.
  • In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives  
    Indexes collections of oral histories, letters, diaries, autobiographies, and other personal narratives in the first-person in English from around the world, with some full text included.
  • Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926  
    Searchable full text of casebooks, manuals, pamphlets, letters, speeches, etc. showing the development of U.S. and British law.
  • Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978  
    Over 240,000 Supreme Court documents from the final years of John Marshall through the early years of Warren Burger.
  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries  
    Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950.
  • Periodicals Index Online  
    Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in "Periodicals Archive Online."
  • United States Historical Census Data Browser  
    Allows you to manipulate population census data for any census year from 1790 to 1960. After selecting the year, choose from the lists of variables based on the questions asked in the census that year.
  • Valley of the Shadow  
    Details life in Augusta County, Va. and Franklin County, Pa. during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Contains letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census records and church records.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000  
    A large collection of primary sources, journal articles, and other instructional materials for the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
  • Women's Studies Resources  
    A guide to finding journal and newspaper articles, primary sources, reference works, and databases useful for women's studies research.
 
 

Subject Librarian

Librarian for History and Politics
                                      

Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History

Contact Info:

Alderman Library 434-924-4982

Email me

Microforms Collections

These subject lists are not comprehensive.  If you do not find a title you are looking for check VIRGO or consult a library staff member for assistance.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait