Accounts
The University of Virginia has many accounts that you'll want to have. Here are a few which will be important for research and library use.
- Eservices Account - You must use your eservices account to login to public computers on-Grounds and to access your home directory account (see #6 below) if you are off-Grounds and using the web-based home directory interface. All U.Va. faculty and students get this account automatically and are given a automatically generated password. NOTE: When or if you change your your UVa email password, this does not change your eservices password. If you want to change your Eservices password or if you have forgotten it, go to the Lost Passwords/Changing Passwords web site. If you are a returning student and your Eservices password no longer works go here to reset your password.
- Library Account - Use this online account to renew books and other library materials, view titles of the items you have checked out, and see a list of items you have on "hold" that are awaiting pickup at a library location. U.Va. students and faculty members automatically get a Library account. To login to your account, use your computing ID and the last 4-digits of your university ID number.
Account - RefWorks and RefShare are software applications that enable you to...
- Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database
- Format bibliographies and citations automatically in over 400 styles including APA, MLA, etc.
- Use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations, etc.
- Access your RefWorks account from any computer, anywhere
- Create a database and share it with colleagues around the world
Once you set up a RefWorks account (free for all UVa students and faculty if you use your UVa email address, for example, tj2u@virginia.edu), you can save citations for articles, books, dissertations, etc. into RefWorks. If the citations in your RefWorks account have a
button, you can click it and navigate to the journal article's full text. See our Refworks page for more information. - Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database
- InterLibrary Services (ILS) Account - If we don't have it, we can get it! Use the Library's Interlibrary Loan service to obtain journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and other materials not available at any of the U.Va. Libraries. It's fast and it's free for U.Va. affiliates. To set up an account, click on button, FIRST TIME USERS (on the right side of the page) and fill out the form.
- UVaAnywhere VPN or Proxy Accounts - If you are using your laptop, desktop computer, or mobile device such as an Ipod Touch or Iphone when you are off-Grounds, you must authenticate by using the UVaAnywhere VPN or Proxy so that you will be able to have full access to U.Va. resources such as full text journal articles, ebooks, library databases, and more that are restricted to U.Va affiliates. To see a visual of the procedure for connecting from off-Grounds using the VPN UVaAnywhere, click here.
- Home Directory Account - This account allows you to safely save and access all of your documents on a U.Va server from any location worldwide. We recommend you use it instead of saving your important documents to a memory stick, flash drive, thumb drive, etc as the information on the home directory is backed up every 2 hours and you can retrieve any items you accidently delete. All U.Va. faculty and students get this account automatically. If you are on-Grounds and login to a public computer using NetBadge, you can select the Home Directory drive as opposed to the c:\ drive when you save a document . If you are using your own laptop, you can access the Home Directory by downloading the Home Directory software onto you computer or by . downloading the Home Directory software onto your computer
- On Grounds Wireless Account - Want to use your laptop on-Grounds? Get a wireless account.
- Printing on-Grounds. You can print to public printers from your laptop or a public computer in a library, ITC lab, or the Curry Library and Innovation Commons. To print, you will need to get the printer drivers for the public printer. If for example, you want to print to the Curry Library and Innovation Commons, you would select Ruffner Hall_3812. Instructions for printing.
- Using Mobile Devices at UVa: Connecting an Ipod Touch, iPhone, Blackberry, etc.
Register your mobile device first. Then, set up your device using these instructions.
Subject Specialists
Subject Specialists
North America, the British Isles, Australasia
Gary Treadway
Alderman Library
434.924.4982
grt8r@virginia.edu
Continental Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America
George Crafts
Alderman Library
434.924.4984
gtc@virginia.edu
Far East
Calvin Hsu
Alderman Library
434.924.4978
ch8xy@virginia.edu
South Asia
Philip McEldowney
Alderman Library
434.924.4987
pm9k@virginia.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait