Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Media Studies  Tags: media_studies media film television  

A guide for research film and media studies
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/mediastudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Media Studies            Print Page
  

Tips

 

Best Databases for Media Studies

Other Relevant Databases for Media Studies

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • American Film Scripts Online  
      
    This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 497 scripts by 605 writers together with detail on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts
  • Film & Television Literature Index  
      
    Finds reviews of films and articles on theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspects of both film and television in the US and internationally.
  • Film Index International  
      
    Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International and AFI Catalog together in one site. Film Index International is a filmography that gives fully international coverage of around 118,000 films and 685,000 film personalities
  • IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts  
      
    A performing arts journal resource with nearly 300,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to current, covering film, theatre and dance
  • JSTOR Journal Storage Project  
      
    Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
  • MLA Bibliography  
      
    An index to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations in language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
      
    Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1984) and the Washington Post (1877-1987).
  • Theatre in Video  
      
    Streaming video of over 350 produtions of plays from Aeschylus through Shakespeare and Beckett to Sam Shepherd. Also documentaries about productions and interviews with authors, directors, and actors. Viewing requires individual registration.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJudith Thomas
Contact Info:
Clemons Library
(434) 924-8814
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait