More Resources
- See also Notification Services for Journal Articles
- See ACRL core list of journals in Women's Studies. Note: Journal Finder will find journal titles in all formats at UVA Library.
- See list of U.S. and international periodical titles from Cornell University's Human Sexuality Collection.
- To find titles at UVA - sample Advanced VIRGO searches:
subject = women periodicals united states
subject = suffrage periodicals
subject = fashion periodicals
Newspaper Articles
TIPS
- Use Journal Finder to search for journals and newspapers by specific title.
- Click on the Find@UVA link in any citation on a UVA database results list, if you don't see a link to full-text, to find out if full-text is available from another source.
- See also databases page for all UVA databases that may contain material relevant to women and gender topics and RSAP's links to digitized historical periodicals. Note that Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory is a good source for finding out where a journal title is indexed (but no searching for articles in this database.)
Selected Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Large multidisciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Look for the Find@UVA link below citations for which there is no full-text to find out if UVA provides full-text from another source. - American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900. Use alphabetical title list to browse for and limit searches to titles related to women's interests, e.g. L for Ladies, H for Home, etc.
- Contemporary Womens Issues (1992+) An index with international coverage on issues relating to women in sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights. Includes book reviews. Look for the Find@UVA link below each citation to locate full-text.
- Gender Inn Search over 5000 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature. Look for the Find@UVA link below each citation to locate full-text.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project Full-text backfiles of many scholarly journals, usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online which add 400 similar journals.
- Medieval Feminist Index Free index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Use Journal Finder in VIRGO to see if UVA owns journal issues cited in this index.
- Project Muse Women's Studies Full-text Journals 20 journals, with beginning coverage varying by title from the 1990s to the 2000s
- Sociological Abstracts (1963-present) Sociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly. Look for the Find@UVA link below each citation to locate full-text.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Abstracts from 1990's to the present. Loads slowly. Look for the Find@UVA llink below each citation to locate full-text.
- ViVa bibliography of articles From the International Instiute of Social History Women's History section.
- Women's Studies International (1972+) Indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, documents and other materials. If full-text not linked in a citation look for the Find@UVA llink in the citation to locate full-text.
Other Resources
Selected Print Indexes to Journal Articles
Journal of Women's History Guide to Periodical Literature
Covers 1980-1990. Alderman Reference, Z7962 .F57 1992,
Lesbian Periodicals Index (1947-1985)
Covers 42 periodicals. Alderman Stacks, HQ75.6 .U5 P68 1986.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1990)
An excellent resource for finding citations to articles in mainstream 20th century U.S. magazines and journals. Titles such as Ladies Home Journal, Saturday Evening Post, McCalls, and Life, plus hundreds more, are indexed here. Alderman Reference, AI3 .R48.
Women Studies Abstracts (1972-1999)
Alderman Reference, Z7962 .W65
Selected Full-text Journals In Microform at Alderman Library
American Ladies Magazine (1828-1836), Micfilm S-10
Edited by Sarah J. Hale, this was the first U.S. women's magazine to last more than five years. Full-text in American Periodicals Series Online.
American Periodicals Series I, II, III, (1740-1900)
Micfilm S-10, Micfilm S-12 and Micfilm S-147
See also searchable digitized version of this collection for full text. Use alphabetical title list to browse for titles that pertain to women. e.g. go to L for Ladies, H for Home, etc.
Arthur's Home Magazine (1852-1897), Micfilm S-147
A popular periodical for housewives and children, featuring fashion, light fiction, and verse. Full-text in American Periodicals Series Online.
Britannia (1912-1918), Micfilm S-505
The organ of the Pankhursts' Women's Social and Political Union, later the Women's Party.
Englishwoman's Review of Social and Industrial Questions (1866-1910), Micfich S-179
Concerned with the condition and needs of women, with working-class women, and with women's education.
Equal Rights (1935-1936), Micfilm S-514
News and articles about the women's rights movement, stressing the achievements of women who succeeded in a man's world.
Essence (1976/1977-1994/1995), Micfilm S-771
Founded in 1970, this popular magazine is devoted to the interests of African American women.
Forerunner (1909-1916), Micfich S-91
Written, edited, and published by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; contains fiction, poetry, editorials, and news reports.
Godey's Magazine (continuing Godey's Lady's Book), Micfilm S-10
A popular high-circulation magazine that published literary works by all the great writers of the period, with illustrations and engravings1830-1898. Full-text in American Periodicals Series Online.
Good Housekeeping (1978-1989), Micfilm S-879
Very popular home and family magazine.
History of Women, Micfilm 2159
See print guide for index to dozens of periodical titles in this microfilm set.
Ladies' Companion and Literary Exposition (1834-1844), Micfilm S-10
Well-illustrated, contents include mainly fiction and sentimental poetry, Full-text in American Periodicals Series Online.
Ladies Home Journal (1884-1971), Micfilm S-391
Also available for 1884-1899 through American Periodicals Series Online.
Lady's Magazine and Repository of Entertaining Knowledge (1792-1793)
Micfilm S-10
The first U.S. women's magazine, it presented fiction, poetry, and fashion. Full-text also in American Periodicals Series Online.
Ladies' Museum (1798-1832), Micfilm S-83
This magazine attempted to combine household hints with intellectual improvement.
Lily, A Ladies' Journal Devoted to Temperance and Literature (1849-1856)
Micfilm S-485
Founded by Amelia Bloomer, this magazine advocated women's rights and dress reform.
Lowell Offering (1840-1845), Micfilm S-10
Published by the female factory employees at the Lowell woolen mills in Massachusetts, offers insight into the labor conditions and the socio-economic problems of the period. Full-text in American Periodicals Series Online.
McCall's, (1922-1972, with gaps), Micfilm S-986
Originally published in the 1880s as a dressmaking patterns magazine, it later became a popular home and family magazine.
Ms. (1972-1989), Micfilm S-832
Popular U.S. feminist magazine founded by Gloria Steinem.
Off Our Backs, Micfilm US-1 (1970s); Micfilm S-1468 (1989-2007)
U.S. feminist journal.
Revolution (1868-1871), Micfilm S-475
An early women's rights journal, edited by Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, among others.
Spare Rib, Micfich S-660 (1972: July-1978); Micfilm S-1379 (1975-1983: Aug.)
British feminist journal.
Vanity Fair (1913-1936), Micfilm S-1107
U.S. women's fashion magazine.
Votes for Women (1907-1915), Micfilm S-498
Until 1912, this journal was the organ of the Pankhursts' Women's Social and Political Union.
Woman Patriot (1918-1932), Micfilm S-513
A U.S."newspaper for home and national defense against woman suffrage, feminism, and socialism. "For a similar viewpoint, see Woman's Protest (listed below.
Woman's Protest (1912-1918), Micfilm S-436
The official publication of the National Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. For a similar viewpoint, see Woman Patriot, listed above.
Woman Worker (1907-1921), Micfilm S-507
A journal of women's trade unions, arguing for organization and for improvement of working conditions in factories and workshops.
Woman's Column (1888-1904), Micfilm S-516
Published by the American Woman Suffrage Association and edited by Lucy Stone's daughter, Alice S. Blackwell. Only about 70 scattered issues were available for microfilming.
Women's Journals of the 19th Century, pt.1
(The Women's Penny Paper and Women's Herald), Micfilm N-GB 12
Edited by the British suffragist Henrietta B. Muller. Index/guide includes list of interviewees, including George Eliot, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Rosa Bonheur.
Women's Review of Books (1983-2004), Micfilm S-1328
Published by Wellesley College Center for Research on Women.
Women's Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait