Subject Guide
More Information
CRS Reports
- Write to your Representative or SenatorYou can write to your Representative or Senator to request a copy of a current CRS report.
Introduction
The Library of Congress Congressional Research Service does research and writes report specifically for Congress. These reports are not normally distributed to depository libraries like UVA, but there are some possibilities for finding them at UVA. Please be sure to consult with Government Information staff for more help in finding CRS reports. NOTE: CRS reports can also usually be obtained by contacting one's Representative or Senator. That usually takes about two weeks. So, do check with us first. We can probably get it for you more quickly. A very good overview of CRS and its reports is available from LLRX.
Major studies & issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service
Law Library - Microfiche & Microfilm
SST .L6973
This set of film and fiche contains many, not all, of the CRS reports since 1916. The reports and issue briefs are numbered in a variety of ways - RS5647 or RL23567 or IB3950 or 93-1010-F. The reports in this collection are not indexed separately in VIRGO. Paper indexes to these are available in the Law Library Microforms Reference area
Electronic Sources for CRS Reports
- Proquest CongressionalIndexes many CRS reports. Includes full text from 2004 forward.
- OpenCRS.com - Center for Democracy & TechnologyCRS reports available on the web. (If above link does not work try Archive-It.) (Also try this Google search, replacing "information security" with your search terms.)
- EveryCRSReport.comSite contains over 8,000 CRS reports from all time periods. Regularly added to.
- CRS Reports from University of North Texas LibrariesUNT provides access to CRS reports that were ever made available on the internet. Begins around 1990. About 6,500 reports available (06/2005).
- Penny Hill PressPenny Hill Press indexes and sells many CRS reports. They are catagorized under broad subjects like "terrorism" or "foreign aid." The reports are not available in full text on the internet from Penny Hill.
- CRS Reports by Topic from the Thurgood Marshall Law LibraryCRS Reports by Topic from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library
- CRS reports via GoogleThis string only searches full text CRS reports available on the web. It will find CRS reports that are in full text on the internet. Replace "information security" with your search terms.
- CRS Reports on National Security & Military IssuesFrom Federation of American Scientists. The FAS links to many government publications, including CRS reports. This is a great site to use to find hard to find government reports.