Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Maps - Print & Digital  Tags: maps geography government  

Last update: May 21st, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/maps  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Maps on the Web             Print Page
  

Maps Online

See the Scholars' Lab links to online geographic resources.

  • Virginia Gazeteer  
    The Virginia Gazetteer contains the official name, type, and location of over 51,000 geographic features in Virginia.
  • David Rumsey Collection  
    The David Rumsey Collection is a privately held map collection housed in California. It specializes in 18th and 19th century cartography of the Amreicas. Areas included, but not limited to: Washington DC, San Francisco, Boston, Lewis and Clark Expedition.
  • Atlas of Historical County Boundaries  
    The Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a project of the William M. Scholl Center for Family and Community History at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps  
    Maps that show building footprints. Very detailed.
  • MapQuest  
    Find detailed maps of thousands of U.S. and international cities. Listings include streets, points of interest, restaurants, shopping, schools, and more. Also includes handy TripQuest driving directions calculator.
  • EarthTrends Global Maps  
    The World Resources Institute's Earthtrends Environmental Information group provides maps and information on a dozen global issues ranging from Coastal and Marine Ecosystems, Climate and Atmosphere, Agriculture and Food to Energy and Resources and Water.
  • Google Earth  
    Will work on UVA computer builds. You will need to download it for your own computer.
  • United Nations Maps  
    More than 100 regional and country maps (.pdf). Details include primary and secondary cities, rivers, roads (though not named), and railroads. Not all countries represented notably Brasil, Mexico, Nigeria, and most countries in Western Europe.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection  
    An amazing collection, located at the University of Texas at Austin Library, of over 2,000 current and historical maps from around the world arranged by geographic location including older edition CIA maps.
  • Newberry Library Cartographic Collections  
    See this resource for an overview of Chicago's Newberry Library collections and to search their catalogue of holdings including an estimated 300,000 maps.
  • American Memory Map Collections  
    Thousands of historical and current maps from all over the world. Browse for maps of cities and towns, railroads and other transportation maps,conservation and environment, discovery and exploration, military battles and campaigns, and general maps.
  • National Atlas of the United States  
    An online, interactive resource, this atlas updates a large bound collection of paper maps that was published in 1970. From the U.S. Department of the Interior. See their FAQ and Help sections.
 

Subject Guide

Barbie Selby
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
Room 511
University of Virginia
434-924-4963
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait