Definitions and Measurements of Poverty
- Experimental Poverty MeasuresFrom Bureau of Labor Statistics. Since the mid-1990s, research within the Bureau of Labor Statistics has focused on the development of new poverty thresholds.....
- How Is Poverty Measured in the United States?Good overview of the history of the poverty measure. From the University of Wisconsin/Madison's Institute for Research on Poverty, one of three National Poverty Research Centers sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- How the Census Measures PovertyFrom the US Census. See also Defintions and The History of the Poverty Measure
- Poverty Guidelines, Research, and MeasurementFrom the Department of Health and Human Services. See their Frequently Asked Questions
Comments (0)
Data & Statistics
- "Green Book" - 2011 Edition"The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation.
- American FactfinderA wealth of searchable Census data, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey and the Economic Census. You can use this resource to create your own maps and tables. NOTE: American FactFinder works with Mozilla Firefox 8 and Microsoft Internet Explorer 8. Other browsers may not perform as expected.
- Food & Nutrition Service (USDA) - Data & StatisticsSupplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP aka food stamps); Food Distribution Programs; School Meals; Women, Infants and Children (WIC).
- KIDS COUNTFrom the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Data on children in poverty. This resource includes by-state,and across-state statistics, as well as data down to the community level.
- Model-based Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) for School Districts, Counties, and StatesFrom the US Census. These 2010 school district, county and state estimates were released in November 2011. See also the NCES 2010 Condition of Education Report: High Poverty Public Schools
- Poverty Data Sources - US CensusCurrent Population Survey, Annual Social Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC)
American Community Survey (ACS); Decennial Census; Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP); Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE); Microdata. Includes historical poverty data back to 1959. - Poverty Thresholds - US CensusFrom the US Census.
- StateHealthFacts.orgFrom the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. Statistics on health related issues AND other topics as well.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States - 1878-2012From the US Census. 1) PDF files of all editions published from 1878-2012. The 2012 edition is the final official edition. 2) Also provides access to two editions of Historical Statistics of the United States. 3) See Proquest Stat Abstract of the U.S. for current statistics.
- Unemployment Statistics from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)See also the BLS home page for links to other publications.
- USDA Economic Research Service Data SetsSee links to Food Desert Locator, County Level Poverty Rates, State Fact Sheets. Use Search Data box to search on "poverty" for many reports on poverty related issues. See also ERS Publications -- e.g., Food Security in the United States: Key Statistics and Graphics and Alleviating Poverty in the United States: The Critical Role of SNAP Benefits
- SEE ALSO Other U.S. Statistical Agenciesaaa
Analysis/Reports/Data from Research Centers and Think Tanks
- Brookings - US PovertySee also their Concentrated Poverty reports. "The Brookings Institution traces its beginnings to 1916, when a group of leading reformers founded the Institute for Government Research (IGR), the first private organization devoted to analyzing public policy issues at the national level."
- Heritage Foundation - Poverty and Inequality"Founded in 1973, The Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institution—a think tank—whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense."
- Institute for Research on PovertyFrom the University of Wisconsin/Madison. It is one of the National Poverty Research Centers sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- National Bureau of Economic Research Papers published from the 1980s to the present. Founded in 1920, NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization.
- Pew Research Center - Economics"One of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan “fact tank” that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. The Pew Research Center is an independent subsidiary of the Pew Charitable Trusts."
- Poverty and the Social Safety Net in Virginia2010-2012 reports from the the Weldon Cooper Center.
- Rural Policy Research Institute (RUPRI)See their State Profiles. "RUPRI is housed within the Harry S Truman School of Public Affairs at the University of Missouri-Columbia and is a joint program of Iowa State University, the University of Missouri, and the University of Nebraska. RUPRI was founded in 1990 to address a concern of some members of the Senate Agricultural Committee that no objective non-governmental source of external data, information, and analysis, regarding the rural and community impacts of public policy decisions was available."
- Urban Institute - Poverty and Safety Net"In the mid-1960s, President Johnson saw the need for independent nonpartisan analysis of the problems facing America's cities and their residents. The President created a blue-ribbon commission of civic leaders who recommended chartering a center to do that work. In 1968, the Urban Institute became that center." For more information on poverty related issues, browse the Urban Institute site By Topic and see Fact Sheets.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
See also
- Guide to Statistics on Historical Trends in Income InequalityFrom the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities.
- Statistics from US Data SourcesA guide from Cornell University's Catherwood Library,
- UVA Journal & Newspaper Article Databases
sep.jpg)
Loading...
