This is the "Partition sources and Links" page of the "History - Partition of India" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Investigating sources to learn and write about the partition of India
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/partitionofindia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Partition sources and Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Partition sources and links

Search VIRGO  or VIRGO Classic
Databases: Virgo || South Asia || History
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Academic Search Complete, many articles full-text online
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text newspapers +
Periodicals Archive Online
Print Sources:
* Transfer of Power. 12 v. edited by Nicholas Mansergh, et al. Alderman DS480.83 .T7   
* Historical dictionary of India by Surjit Mansingh. Asian Room DS405 .M27 2006  
* Who was who in British India (1998, Riddick) Asian Room CT1503 .R53 1998  
* Dictionary of national biography by Sen, Siba Pada. (1972)  Asian Room CT 1502 .S46  
* Dictionary of Indian biography by Buckland, Charles Edward, 1847-1941. (1906) Stacks DS434 .B8 1906 and Online 
* Guide to Indian Periodical Literature. Reference Z6958.I4 G8   
* A Historical atlas of South Asia edited by Joseph E. Schwartzberg. Asian Room G2261 .S1 H5 1978 and  Online
* A list and index of parliamentary papers relating to India, 1908-1947 (1981) By John Sims Z3208 .A5 S55
* British Parliamentary papers relating to India, 1662-1947 3 volumes by Adrian Sever (1992) Z 3208 .A4 B75 1992.
Videos: Garm hava, Hot winds || Train to Pakistan || Earth || Monsoon Wedding || Slumdog Millionaire || Lagaan (cricket) || Pather Panchali
Internet Sources: Useful Websites
* Digital South Asia Library = http://dsal.uchicago.edu/  
* South and Southeast Asian Stuides  
* Daily Connection for quick links to some newspapers, journals, and more. (Coming in the future - links to some South Asian journals and newspapers, or search some South Asian serials.)

Microfiche (3rd Floor Alderman)
* Gazetteers of India in the British period. 1880s-1940s. Micfich 1.  
* Census of India. 1870s-1950s. Micfich 12 (1872) through 20 (1951).
* British Parliamentary Papers. House of Commons sessional papers [microform] Micfish S-424 and Micprint S-1

Journals: IESHR HC431 .I338, Biblio Z1035 .A1 B43 (early TOCs), Seminar DS401 .S365 (see August 1994 issue), Social Scientist HN681 .S597
Newspapers: Telegraph || Nation || Opinion || Archives . Times of India || India News || Archive . The Hindu || Archives . Indian Express || Archives 
Weeklies: India Today || Frontline || Outlook || EPW through VIRGO or directly to EPW

Back to South Asian Studies Subject Guide
History Department

Top of Page

 

books

Transfer of Power - Nicholas Mansergh
Call Number: DS480.83 .T7

Constituent Assembly debates [electronic resource] : official report, 9.12.1946-24.1.1950
Call Number: UVA Library Internet
Click to AGREE to the copyright.
The debates of the writing of the constitution of India


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip