- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries (UVA only)
Searchable full text database of diaries and letters written by participants in the American Civil War.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress
Thousand of diaries. Enter search terms in "Search all collections" box on upper right of main screen. Sample terms: diaries women; diaries soldier; diaries travel
- Camping With the Sioux: Fieldwork Diary of Alice Cunningham Fletcher
Fall 1881 diary of an unmarried woman of 43 who went to the Dakota Territory to live with Sioux women and record their way of life. From the Smithsonian Institution.
- Diaries of Jackson Davis 1911 and 1913
A Virginia native, throughout his career Davis specialized in Southern education and interracial problems. See also microform version of Davis diaries for 1937-1947 (Micfilm 7542).
- Documenting the American South
- Early American Imprints 1801-1819 (UVA only)
See Autobiogaphies, Diaries, Memoirs, Slave narratives, Travel literature.
- Historic Iowa Children's Diaries Digital Collection
Mainly late 19th century diaries of boys and girls (some early 20th century entries). To see transcriptions, in View box (screen left) choose "page and text" from drop-dowm menu and click Go.
- In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives (UVA only)
Includes a lot of full-text material. Click on "All Subjects" and the "W" link for material by women.
- Japanese American Relocation Archives (1940s)
Scroll down page for links to diaries and and other primary sources including scrapbooks, and oral histories.
- John Quincy Adams Diaries (1779-1848)
U.S. President 1825-1828. The diary can be searched by date or by using the detailed timeline. Because there is no transcription of the diary, it is not possible to search the text by keyword.
- Mormon Missionary Diaries (1830s-1960s )
Browse by geographical area, diarist, or mission.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries (UVA only)
Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the colonial period until 1950.
- Pursuit of Adventure: The Fur Trade in Canada and the North West Company
Click on "Manuscripts", then "Browse by Title" (and use drop-down menu in the browse title search) to find links to journals written by members of the North West Company in the early 19th century.
- Radio Diaries: 15 Years of Stories
From National Public Radio (NPR). Radio Diaries was a project to work with people to document their own lives for public radio: teenagers, seniors, prison inmates, civil rights diaries and and other diaries from people whose voices are rarely heard.
- Valley of the Shadow
Details life in Augusta County, Va. and Franklin County, Pa. during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Contains letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, census records and church records.
- Wisconsin Pioneer Experience
A digital collection of diaries, letters, reminiscences, speeches and other writings of people who settled and built Wisconsin during the 19th century. Includes naratives from an Oneida Indian and a man who helped a slave on the underground railroad.