Librarian Info
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
Best Databases for Civil & Environmental Engineering
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
- ASCE Research Library (1995-present) This link opens in a new windowSearch journals published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources. Our subscription only allows access to journals, not to conference proceedings.
- Civil Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics. Now part of Engineering Research Database.
- Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management This link opens in a new windowPart of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection. Multidisciplinary database of environmental sciences information from over 4000 journals as well as conference proceedings and books.
- National Transportation LibraryProvides access to TRIS Online, National Transportation Libraries catalogs, and related databases.
- Transportation Research Board Information Services (TRIS)TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
VTRC/VDOT Library
- Virginia Transportation Research Council LibraryLocated on Grounds, materials are available for UVa researchers. Some materials can only be accessed in person at the VTRC Library, but many are available on line.
Subscribe to their blog for occasional updates as new resources are added, or existing ones are highlighted.
http://library.virginiadot.org/blog
Environmental Impact Statements
Northwestern University's Transportation Library has one of the largest collections of environmental impact statements in North America. Their catalog records are brief, so they are best searched by keywords (which always must include the keyword "EIS"). Once you have identified the EIS you want, check VIRGO to see if it is available at UVa; if not, then use interlibrary loan to request the item.
More Databases
To see a complete list of available Civil & Environmental Engineering databases, click on the Find Articles/Databases menu item to the left.
To search for books about Civil & Environmental Engineering, click on the Find Books menu item to the left.
You can access additonal kinds of information relating to Civil & Environmental Engineering using the other menu items on the left.
Library Services and Tools
- Journal FinderUse this to determine if UVa provides a journal online or in print. If not use the Library's interlibrary loan service to get a PDF copy.
- LinkedIn Learning- For Students and Faculty This link opens in a new windowlynda.com is an online education company offering thousands of video courses in software, creative, and business skills.
- Purchase RequestsSubmit a request to ask the Library to purchase a book for the UVA Library.
- Exam Prep and Review from KnovelUse this study guide to solidify your understanding of 9 core Civil Engineering concepts to prepare for an exam or refresh your knowledge. Topics include Surveying,
Hydraulics and Hydrologic Systems, Soil Mechanics and Foundations, Environmental Engineering, Transportation,
Structural Analysis, Structural Design, Construction Management, and Materials.
The Spectra
The Spectra Engineering and Science Research Journal is now searching for UVa undergraduates to submit their research for publication. Any student may submit. Successful papers will portray a variety of criteria such as originality, depth of technical analysis, diversity, intellectual insight, and transformative research. Paper submissions are open to any discipline provided a faculty member approves the document based on technical accuracy. For more information visit The Spectra web page.
More Information
- Place Items on ReserveFor Instructors wishing to place items on reserve for a course.
- Purchase RequestsUse this link to submit a request to ask the Library to purchase a book for the UVA Library.
- Interlibrary LoanOrder books and articles not found at UVa through this free service.
- Off-Grounds Access to Databases, Journals, etc.REMEMBER: if you want to use library databases from home or while you are traveling, you'll need to set up off-grounds access!
- Virginia Transportation Research Council (VTRC)The VTRC facility is located on the western edge of the UVa grounds. A VDOT and UVa partnership since 1948, VTRC works closely with the Department of C&EE, and C&EE students may use its library facilities in addition to those of the Brown Science and Engineering Library.