- Background Notes
From the U.S. State Department. Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty around the world.
- CIA World Factbook
Socio-economic, political and transnational information about hundreds of countries plus maps.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World (UVa only)
This encyclopedia of geographical places and features profiles every country in the world, with information on demography, geography, industry, agriculture, cultural and historical points of interest, transportation, and pronunciations. Search by place name, type of place, or keyword.
- Country Studies
Arranged by country
and by continent
. Some studies are out of date (e.g. from the 1990s), but not all, and this Library of Congress resource is well respected.
- Economic and Financial Data Resources
Look for links relevant to international resources. From Emory University. See also WebEc,
economics data from the University of Helsinki.
From the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex. Links to information from Amnesty International, FAO, ILO, IMF, World Bank and many more. Search by country or region.
- European Union
- Everything International
From Professor Russow at Philadelphia University. A wealth of resources, mainly oriented to business and economic topics, but which also includes education, travel and general country guide information.
- Foreign Country Information
From the University of Colorado at Boulder. Links to most of the resources listed below, plus statistical information, country profiles by international organziations, and a pronunciation guide
to hundreds of people and place names.
- Foreign Governments - Official Websites
- International Law Sites
Click on Links/International. From the American Society of Comparative Law. See also this page from the University of Illinois, which includes resources for international law in English.
- International Monetary Fund
- Migration Information Source
A web based resource which provides migration information including data, analysis and trends. The Global Data Center section of this website provides information on state by state immigrant populations.
Easy to use statistical resource. Wide range of topics covered.
- OECD's SourceOECD (UVA only )
1998-present. Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- Political Handbook of the World (Uva only)
Authoritative source of political information on more than 200 countries. In addition, the Handbook profiles 120 intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, world and regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations. From Congressional Quarterly.
- Portals to the World
From the Library of Congress. A great compilation of resources on wide ranging topics for countries around the world: government, finance, law, economy, education, health, language and literature, recreation, travel, religion. and science and technology.
- U.N. Libraries and Databases
Links to various U.N. libraries and their resources. Many topics covered, e.g., labor, health, education, intellectual property, food and agriculture, the oceans, human rights, finance. See also undata
, a portal to a wealth of statistics by subject, e.g. education, employment, energy, health, refugees, trade...
- World Bank
Resources, including reports and statistics on countries of the world. See also Countries and Regions section here.